Ginny's Cheezy Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I was really dissapointed in this recipe. I followed the directions exactly, and ended up with curdled milk with cheese only on the top layer of macaroni. If I had to make this again I would double the cheese and STIR it before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I really wanted this to work because it's so easy but unfortunately, it did not. The taste is ok I guess, but the texture of the sauce was completely unappetizing-it was curdled. I think maybe the whey of the milk cooks into the pasta leaving the curd of the milk to make a sauce with the cheese. The end result is curdled cheesy milk and pasta-not great. We were able to eat it so I gave it a 2, but I didn't keep the leftovers and won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I loved this recipe! I made it with 15 servings for a family gathering and everyone loved it. The only changes I made were to use less salt, instead of just cheddar I used monterey jack also and cover it while baking. From covering the pan there wasn't any of the crunchy stuff on the top and it was really cheesy and soft. Before serving I stirred it to mix up the cheese and milk on the bottom of the pan, added more cheese to the top and re-covered to let the cheese melt on the way to grandma's house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This one was just ok, Not my favorite, which I am still on look out for. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Very home made tasting, so easy, so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This is a good base recipe to play around with. I took other reviewer's suggestions and 1.) used double the amount of cheese 2.) added about a teaspoon of paprika and 3.) stirred it up. My own touch was adding about a quarter cup of finely diced yellow onion. I only cooked it 45 minutes because it looked like it was about to burn. It was pretty tasty. Husband and 15-year-old stepdaughter ate it up. I've had better mac and cheese, but this was good, too. Try it and add your own touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This mac and cheese is simple and tasty. Being a busy school teacher and mom of two "hungry all the time kids", this was brilliant. One batch of this was enough to feed 4 generously. Pair with a veggie and enjoy the "oohs and ahhs"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I found this to be very dry. My family would not even touch it. I guess we are just used to mac and cheese that is creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
The kids really liked this one. I was in a hurry, so to cut down on baking time, I boiled the pasta for a few minutes first. I used less milk and more cheese than called for and added bread crumbs to the top halfway through baking. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elk Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
The plus is that this is very easy to throw together. The texture is my problem with it. My eight-year-old ate it and said it was okay. My three-yr-old would not eat it. I added the garlic and onion powders, used 2% milk, and lots of jack/cheddar mixed. I also sprinkled crushed Marzetti's Cheese and Garlic croutons on top (didn't have breadcrumbs). It smelled absolutely heavenly and the smell was driving us wild as it baked. We expected it to taste really good, too, but it was just okay. We all love mac-n-cheese, but I think it was too dry for us. It was like seasoned buttered noodles with a cheese "crust" on top. It didn't blend together. I am not sure how to fix that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States