Ginny's Cheezy Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
just made this! changed the recipe a little--- I used a 12 oz. pack of the twisty macaroni, in addition to the milk and salt, i threw in about 5 oz of cheddar cheese, and about 6 oz. of american cheese then I added about a tablespoon of cayenne pepper and about 4 dollops of med. salsa, and i stirred it all up, i took it out and stirred it about every 5 minutes, and cooked it for an hour. It came out DELICIOUS... i served it to 4 very picky friends and they loved it... will def make it again!!! it was a good base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I was looking for a good macaroni and cheese dinner other than opening a box of Kraft, unfortunately I did not care for this recipe. It wasn't creamy enough, the milk curdled, and there wasn't enough cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I made this recipe and it was very good. I used 3 cups of milk and two bags of cheese. I did not use the salt either. I also stirred the cheese and macaroni together even though it said not to. I wanted it to coat. Everyone that had it said that they would make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stevensville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I was really dissapointed in this recipe. I followed the directions exactly, and ended up with curdled milk with cheese only on the top layer of macaroni. If I had to make this again I would double the cheese and STIR it before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I really wanted this to work because it's so easy but unfortunately, it did not. The taste is ok I guess, but the texture of the sauce was completely unappetizing-it was curdled. I think maybe the whey of the milk cooks into the pasta leaving the curd of the milk to make a sauce with the cheese. The end result is curdled cheesy milk and pasta-not great. We were able to eat it so I gave it a 2, but I didn't keep the leftovers and won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I loved this recipe! I made it with 15 servings for a family gathering and everyone loved it. The only changes I made were to use less salt, instead of just cheddar I used monterey jack also and cover it while baking. From covering the pan there wasn't any of the crunchy stuff on the top and it was really cheesy and soft. Before serving I stirred it to mix up the cheese and milk on the bottom of the pan, added more cheese to the top and re-covered to let the cheese melt on the way to grandma's house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This one was just ok, Not my favorite, which I am still on look out for. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Very home made tasting, so easy, so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This is a good base recipe to play around with. I took other reviewer's suggestions and 1.) used double the amount of cheese 2.) added about a teaspoon of paprika and 3.) stirred it up. My own touch was adding about a quarter cup of finely diced yellow onion. I only cooked it 45 minutes because it looked like it was about to burn. It was pretty tasty. Husband and 15-year-old stepdaughter ate it up. I've had better mac and cheese, but this was good, too. Try it and add your own touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This mac and cheese is simple and tasty. Being a busy school teacher and mom of two "hungry all the time kids", this was brilliant. One batch of this was enough to feed 4 generously. Pair with a veggie and enjoy the "oohs and ahhs"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States