Ginny's Cheezy Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
If you are looking for a creamy, comfort food type, Mac & Cheese... this isn't it! Personally not what I think of when I want Mac & Cheese. The milk curdled and it looked like cottage cheese had been mixed in. You know how Cheddar Cheese separates, and doesn't melt to a creamy consistency? Well that’s what it did! You could feel the graininess of the Cheddar Cheese in your mouth. If you are going to try this recipe, I would recommend a creamier cheese, with a better melting consistency. If you use salt in your cooking, this definitely could have used salt (yes, even with all that cheese) and some additional flavors, perhaps garlic powder or onion powder. After reading other reviews, I doubled the cheese but that didn’t help. I used 8 oz. Cheddar and 8 oz. of a Monterey Jack/Colby Blend, 1/2 tsp. white pepper and 1/2 tsp. dry mustard powder. Easy isn’t always good! Cooking the macaroni and making a cheese sauce isn’t really that much more difficult or time consuming and, bottom line, well worth a little extra effort. I won’t be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I dont know what went wrong, but this turned out soupy (Had to use a slotted spoon to scoop it out) and with curdled milk. It was still edible so I gave it 2 stars, but I followed the directions exactly and was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
My family loves this Mac N Cheese! I find that it is helpful to stir the mac when it gets out of the oven in order to make everything fairly creamy - it is much easier to reheat if you have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Just made this on the weekend . I did what some users said; I added garlic powder for more flavoring and I added the cheese only at the last 20 minutes so that it wouldn't be crunchy. I really enjoyed it and so did my daughter. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
After reading all the reviews, I ended up taking their advice- doubled the cheese, stirred halfway through cooking, etc...... hate to say this but I will not be making this again. I let it sit for a few minutes before eating, and ended up kinda dry. Usually when I make homemade mac n cheese, my son eats it all up in one night. Well, I still have 3/4 of the pan left............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Agree about the weird curdling but can overlook that cuz of how easy it was! Would like more flavor next time though - adding some spices or sharper cheese. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
wow! i make this about every couple weeks and whenever i have company. it's SO easy and my hubby loves it. i used to use another recipe and i stole some ingredients from it and added it to this one. i put about 2 tsp. of Worcestershire sauce and 1 tsp. of dry mustard. it's also FABULOUS to put about 3 pre-cooked (left-over) bacon chunks on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Ruthenberg Jackson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Tasty and easy to make. I added about 2 tablespoons of cheese whiz on top of the cheese. I also added about 1 cup of soda crackers and mixed it with a tablespoon of melted butter to the top at about 5 mins before it was done just to have and extra crunch to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIMPLICITY006

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Very easy and such a good mac & cheese. I didn't change a thing.I used extra sharp chedder cheese and it was almost as good as my grandmothers was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Very easy to make. We experimented and added green diced chiles which gave it just a little extra zing without being spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States