Ginny's Cheezy Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I thought this recipe was great! I will definitely make it more often. I tweaked it a little, because I'm notorious for that. After I added the cheddar cheese, I added a little Mozzarella cheese as well, and then I sprinkled a little onion powder evenly over the top. About halfway through the cooking time, I sprinkled a few dry bread crumbs over the top to add a little crunch, and it was EXCELLENT! I don't have measurments for the things I added, b/c I don't measure, I just wing it, and make it my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I made this with only 3 cups of milk but it turned out great for me. I did add salt to my servings though. I liked that it was easy. I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
this was watery and tastless---will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This recipe was okay. It was super easy, the pasta cooked perfectly and the cheese was nicely melted, but it ended up very tasteless! I thought it might be when I first looked at it, so when cooking I made the following changes: I used a little under 4 cups of milk and added some sour cream for extra flavor. I also added diced red onion as well as a bit of garlic and some cayenne pepper to spice it up. For cheese, I used a mixture of colby jack, cheddar and a bit of parmesan. I thought that with all these additions it would be a very tasty dish, but it was still really bland. My family ate it, and my dad said it was good, but we all had to add a sprinkle of cayenne pepper powder and other spices to make it more appetizing. I still have leftovers in the fridge, which is also saying something! I think I would make it again, but I would add twice the garlic and cayenne and probably more sour cream. Thanks for a good, easy start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
The easiest mac and cheese I've ever made! I agree that the salt is overwhelming, cheese has enough salt in and of itself. I cut down on the pepper slightly and added some paprika. I mixed the pasta with the butter as suggested , but then I mixed the cheese and milk together and poured over the shells. I added some dollops of mossarella cheese over the top before popping in the oven. Made a wonderful brown cheesy crust which I associate with really good mac and cheese. Next time I will add a little nutmeg. It does great things to dishes with milk and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I decided to try this recipe for myself even though one previous rater said it didn't turn out right, and others said it was great. I was very disappointed. It was "milky" and "watery" with a cottage cheese consistancy. Would never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I was not happy with the outcome. There was still a lot of liquid at the bottom of the pan after an hour (and another 20 minutes sitting in the oven with the oven off). While the pasta was soft and cooked, there didn't seem to be enough cheese to coat the pasta. It was tasty, and I loved not having to cook the macaroni first, but I think I'll stick to making mac n' cheese the old fashioned way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
it was delicious but i think you should be more specific on the size of the pan and the serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
I didn't like the recipe real well, but my hubby did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Like many of the other who've rated this, I tweaked a few things. I followed the recipe at first, but it didn't seem like two and a half cups of pasta was covering the bottom of the pan, so I threw in the rest of the pasta and another Tb of butter (I used butter instead of margarine because it's what we had), and increased the milk by a little bit too. The only complaint I have with this recipe is that a few small bits of a few pieces of pasta didn't cook all the way, but I think that's more because I used twists instead of elbows. Another time I will try ziti or elbows so it's all very level. I was looking for a simple recipe for baked macaroni and cheese that would be soft and cheesy inside but with a crunchy top.. like my mother makes. This came out as close to hers as I can imagine. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States