Gingery Quinoa-Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Deleted celery and added instead carrot and mushroom. Didn't use any sugar and added a bit of cumin and curry. Yummy! Also, easily filled 2 squash halved (4 pieces). Topped with curried toasted cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Just made this tonight. I gave it four stars because it's good but not spectacular. You can probably use half the amount of quinoa the recipe calls for. I had a lot of filling left over. I also used cheddar cheese since we didn't have any mozzarella. In the future I will mix some cheese in with the filling as well as sprinkling it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
We enjoyed this recipe! I added a 1/4 C of walnuts to mixture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
On the advice of other comments, I used about half the ginger and I'm glad I did. I think it would have been overpowering with any more. I thought this dish was pretty good, but not great. I baked my acorn squash for 30 minutes and it was over-baked (mushy and brown). I'm sure this would have tasted better if the squash was not overbaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLY1966
Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Did not add any sugar and it was still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Markita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Will definitely make again. I substituted carrots for the celery. I agree with a couple other reviewers about cutting hack on the ginger. Other than that, I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Schooley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I didn't measure anything out, except the quinoa, of which I only used 1/2 cup (precooked). This turned out absolutely delicious, and although it wasn't my first time eating quinoa, it was my first time eating acorn squash. And I can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow! :) By the way, I preroasted 4 squash halves, and with reducing the quinoa, the amount was perfect for the squash I had. Thanks for a great recip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
filling enough for four to 6 halves (acorn squash are small). Too much quinoa (1/3 instead of 2/3 cup) and too much ginger. 1/8th the amount would still give it a touch of ginger without overpowering the other healthy ingreatients. Also it was dry. Add butter or oliver oil. We pass on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I did not care for the flavor of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This dish is wonderful. As the name implies it is full of ginger flavor. My boyfriend thought the ginger would be overpowering (whereas I LOVE ginger). Turns out he thought it was perfect and I think it might be a bit much. However, the ginger is a perfect match to the apples. This is a very inexpensive dish. Especially if you already have the quinoa on hand, as we did. The quinoa comes out so fluffly. Yes, you have extra stuffing which we are going to serve as a breakfast side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States