Gingery Quinoa-Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I love this recipe! The flavors are wonderful and quinoa has a great lightness and fluffiness that acts as a fabulous base to present the gingery, spicy flavors of the mixture. I have a friend who has a restricted gluten-free diet but always loved the flavors and coziness of stuffing so this has been popular with her, but also with the rest of the potluck crowd when I have made it. I love how versatile the dish is too - you can substitute margarine for the butter and eliminate the cheese to make it a vegan dish; you can add nuts or a dried fruit (currants for example) to the stuffing; you can experiment with other kinds of cheese (I've used goat before and it worked well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marmarwebber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is not very good. It is quite sweet, not at all savory. If you do make it, I would recommend cutting the apple pieces very small, and not using as much cinnamon as the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This is a great recipe, I cook my squash in the microwave and then get everything else ready. I would suggest reducing the amount of sugar a little bit, it can be slightly sweet. The mozarella cheese is a good complement to the flavors in the squash. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is very tasty. I recommend cutting back on the ginger and cinnamon a tad....I made it with the amounts called for and feel it needed less of each. I had a very small apple-so in addition to the apple I added some dried cherries which I soaked first in white wine. I used the white wine instead of vinegar called for. I also used parmesan cheese instead of mozzarella because that is what I had on hand. It turned out perfectly! I topped the dish with chopped toasted almonds before serving......so good. My hubby and I both enjoyed this dish and will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelleResa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
The only reason I'm not giving this five stars is because my husband wasn't as impressed as I. I loved the crunch of the nuts, the tang of the ginger and the sweetness of the squash. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
The Calculation for 2 was enough for 4. We used 2 acorn squash (4 halves). Served with a salad, one half per person !was plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is a wonderful dish! I've served it at fall/winter dinners when we have large gatherings. Cutting each into quarters allows for a sampling of flavor rather than it being a full meal. The combination of flavors is always a pleasant surprise for guests...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brigitte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
The recipe makes enough stuffing for 2 acorn squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Very good. I wasn't sure if the flavors would work together, but they did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I did not care for the flavor of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States