Gingery Quinoa-Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
The only reason I'm not giving this five stars is because my husband wasn't as impressed as I. I loved the crunch of the nuts, the tang of the ginger and the sweetness of the squash. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is very tasty. I recommend cutting back on the ginger and cinnamon a tad....I made it with the amounts called for and feel it needed less of each. I had a very small apple-so in addition to the apple I added some dried cherries which I soaked first in white wine. I used the white wine instead of vinegar called for. I also used parmesan cheese instead of mozzarella because that is what I had on hand. It turned out perfectly! I topped the dish with chopped toasted almonds before serving......so good. My hubby and I both enjoyed this dish and will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelleResa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is a wonderful dish! I've served it at fall/winter dinners when we have large gatherings. Cutting each into quarters allows for a sampling of flavor rather than it being a full meal. The combination of flavors is always a pleasant surprise for guests...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brigitte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
The recipe makes enough stuffing for 2 acorn squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Very good. I wasn't sure if the flavors would work together, but they did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This recipe was mediocre to my tastes. I am not a big fan of quinoa but I was hoping to find a recipe that helped me enjoy it. Also I found that a whole piece of ginger was way too overpowering and less than half would be adequate. If I make this again I'll substitute brown rice for the quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
i think i overestimated what 2 inches of ginger looks like - so i docked the recipe a star because i feel like it should have measured the ginger in something like tablespoons... mine came out so gingery i couldn't even eat it - and i love ginger! my husband ate it though... and i really liked the rest of it though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I only give this 4 stars because hubby wasn't crazy about it, but I thought it was fantastic. I didn't have any fresh ginger on hand so used powdered, but can't wait to try it again with the real stuff -maybe when he's out of town ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I was a bit disappointed. This is missing something- perhaps some vegetable or chicken broth (or even apple cider?) poured over the squash while it is in the oven for the last time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
So good! Didn't need any modification at all. I used a golden delicious apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States