Gingery Quinoa-Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I love this recipe every time I make it. Sometimes I add more veggies, sometimes I make more quinoa. One thing I've always found, my cup runneth over. There's always way more filling than could possibly fit into two acorn squash halves. In fact this time around, the squash was a little smaller than I've normally used, so I'm not stuffing them at all, just scooping all the squash I can into the pan to stir in. This is a favourite. Just a note, I decided I wanted it for lunch tomorrow, so I'm just finishing cooking, and it's almost midnight. It's THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgamble79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Really good! The ginger, cinnamon and apple flavours with squash are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
The Calculation for 2 was enough for 4. We used 2 acorn squash (4 halves). Served with a salad, one half per person !was plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is not very good. It is quite sweet, not at all savory. If you do make it, I would recommend cutting the apple pieces very small, and not using as much cinnamon as the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
The only reason I'm not giving this five stars is because my husband wasn't as impressed as I. I loved the crunch of the nuts, the tang of the ginger and the sweetness of the squash. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is very tasty. I recommend cutting back on the ginger and cinnamon a tad....I made it with the amounts called for and feel it needed less of each. I had a very small apple-so in addition to the apple I added some dried cherries which I soaked first in white wine. I used the white wine instead of vinegar called for. I also used parmesan cheese instead of mozzarella because that is what I had on hand. It turned out perfectly! I topped the dish with chopped toasted almonds before serving......so good. My hubby and I both enjoyed this dish and will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelleResa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is a wonderful dish! I've served it at fall/winter dinners when we have large gatherings. Cutting each into quarters allows for a sampling of flavor rather than it being a full meal. The combination of flavors is always a pleasant surprise for guests...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brigitte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
The recipe makes enough stuffing for 2 acorn squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Very good. I wasn't sure if the flavors would work together, but they did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This recipe was mediocre to my tastes. I am not a big fan of quinoa but I was hoping to find a recipe that helped me enjoy it. Also I found that a whole piece of ginger was way too overpowering and less than half would be adequate. If I make this again I'll substitute brown rice for the quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States