Gingery Quinoa-Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Did not add any sugar and it was still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Markita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Will definitely make again. I substituted carrots for the celery. I agree with a couple other reviewers about cutting hack on the ginger. Other than that, I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I didn't measure anything out, except the quinoa, of which I only used 1/2 cup (precooked). This turned out absolutely delicious, and although it wasn't my first time eating quinoa, it was my first time eating acorn squash. And I can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow! :) By the way, I preroasted 4 squash halves, and with reducing the quinoa, the amount was perfect for the squash I had. Thanks for a great recip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
filling enough for four to 6 halves (acorn squash are small). Too much quinoa (1/3 instead of 2/3 cup) and too much ginger. 1/8th the amount would still give it a touch of ginger without overpowering the other healthy ingreatients. Also it was dry. Add butter or oliver oil. We pass on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I did not care for the flavor of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Tami2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This dish is wonderful. As the name implies it is full of ginger flavor. My boyfriend thought the ginger would be overpowering (whereas I LOVE ginger). Turns out he thought it was perfect and I think it might be a bit much. However, the ginger is a perfect match to the apples. This is a very inexpensive dish. Especially if you already have the quinoa on hand, as we did. The quinoa comes out so fluffly. Yes, you have extra stuffing which we are going to serve as a breakfast side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I love this recipe every time I make it. Sometimes I add more veggies, sometimes I make more quinoa. One thing I've always found, my cup runneth over. There's always way more filling than could possibly fit into two acorn squash halves. In fact this time around, the squash was a little smaller than I've normally used, so I'm not stuffing them at all, just scooping all the squash I can into the pan to stir in. This is a favourite. Just a note, I decided I wanted it for lunch tomorrow, so I'm just finishing cooking, and it's almost midnight. It's THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgamble79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Really good! The ginger, cinnamon and apple flavours with squash are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
The Calculation for 2 was enough for 4. We used 2 acorn squash (4 halves). Served with a salad, one half per person !was plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is not very good. It is quite sweet, not at all savory. If you do make it, I would recommend cutting the apple pieces very small, and not using as much cinnamon as the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States