Gingery Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I made this dish exactly as written the first time and really liked the flavor, but my husband and I weren't wild about the texture of the cooked carrots. The next time I made it, I just shredded the raw carrots and added the dressing, and we liked it much better and it took less time to prepare. The flavor really does intensify if you wait 1-2 days before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDDIEB1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I made this for a church potluck. I did double the recipe with honey instead of artificial sweetener and didn't include raisins because I didn't have ay. Almost all of it was eaten and some people did come back for seconds. I think next time, I will leave out the cinnamon. Other than that, it's definitely a different flavor that I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Career2HomeSchoolMom
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This is fabulous! I just used raw carrots and grated them. I don't care for non-nutritive sweeteners, so I used demerara sugar (1 Tbsp instead of 2). Also, I didn't have any raisins, so I used dried cranberries instead. This recipe is a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bacon Butterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Next time we are gong to try these warm. We might like them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I fixed this recipe as printed. It was delicious. Even better the next day. Great for a low carb diet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
very yummy, but I would recommend taste-testing sauce and adjusting it to your liking. Used honey instead of splenda. I also added more ginger, cayenne pepper, and cinnamon. Family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was fantastic, light, and slightly exotic. I made a few changes according to some of the reviewers and my own tastes. I added honey in place of splenda. In place of the raisins I added dried dates. I also added some lemon juice, curry powder, and cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bearrrs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I tried this dish warmed to serve with the holiday meal and it didn't work as I had hoped. I cooked the carrots as suggested by others and made it a day ahead. The aroma was really dominated by the vinegar and had less of the gingery flavor than I hoped. I will try it again to serve cold as a summer salad because I still think this recipe has great potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I made this as a warm carrot dish. It was fantastic. Followed the directions with a few changes because of not having certain ingrediants. I used 2 tablespoons of honey as another review suggested instead of the splenda. Used 1/8 tsp ground ginger instead of fresh ginger. Omitted the rainins because I didn't have any. Mixed all together and then cooked on medium burner on the stove top until bubbly. These were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I changed the splenda to honey and omitted the raisins to make this delicious ginger marinated carrot salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States