Gingery Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I brought this dish to a Thanksgiving potluck, and it went over very well. I left out the raisins, added some chopped cilantro, and held back on the garlic. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I made this without cooking the carrots and used honey instead of Splenda. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Really good recipe. I recommend going ahead and cooking the carrots-- I've had this before where the carrots are fresh and there's something nice about having them slightly softer (only slightly-- 2 minutes was perfect). I added raisins and cashews, as well as cilantro and green onion. I didn't have cider vinegar so substitutes rice wine vinegar which turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This was interesting. It's a very good combination of sweet and savory. I made it raw and shredded the carrots so they'd be tender and absorb the flavor. Instead of Splenda, I used 2 tsp of agave nectar (a natural sweetener). After tasting it, I added a touch more olive oil, cider vinegar, cinnamon, and ginger. And I used 4 dashes of cayenne--just enough to give it some heat, but not enough to burn your mouth. I bet this would be good topped with slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This is fabulous! I just used raw carrots and grated them. I don't care for non-nutritive sweeteners, so I used demerara sugar (1 Tbsp instead of 2). Also, I didn't have any raisins, so I used dried cranberries instead. This recipe is a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bacon Butterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
My husband and his buddy loved this recipe and asked for more. I did make a few minor changes. I used honey instead of splenda (as one reviewer suggested) and I omitted raisins (Just can't do it thanks to "Better Off Dead"...if you haven't seen it, rent it, great movie) but I added slivered almonds instead. I didn't have any fresh ginger on hand so I substituted w/ dried ground ginger and it tasted just fine...I am sure would have been even better if I used fresh. I also made sure to refrigerate the dish for at least 3 hours. It got better the next day. Great recipe and can be very versatile. Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I have prepared this several times and it is very good. People who were certain they would hate it, really liked it . I have always used sugar because that is what I had but will try honey. I use raw carrots and shred them in the food processor. I found the small shred to be better that the longer shred. It seems to absorb the flavors better and is neater to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This is a very good salad... It had a good tangy taste. I would encourage you not to take a short cut on the refridgerator time. The only change I will make on this recipie is to cut the carots into thinner slices My family loved it! I served this great salad while all the kids were home for the holidays. -- enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quadzero
Home Town: Le Mars, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I liked this more than my husband did. It's just the two of us so there were lots of leftovers, and we got a bit sick of them after a couple of days. Never the less, I usually am not a huge carrot fan and I liked this different way to eat them - fresh, tasty, spicy/sweet/sour. Will probably make again, but halve the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Used this as basic recipe. Used uncut baby carrots; subbed red wine vinegar; subbed honey; subbed regular salt and pepper; left out raisins; added cilantro as others suggested. All spices were Penzey's dried. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States