Gingery Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I brought this dish to a Thanksgiving potluck, and it went over very well. I left out the raisins, added some chopped cilantro, and held back on the garlic. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
I've gotten nothing but great compliments on this recipe. It's so yummy and healthy. Try it without cooking the carrots--even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lily p
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I didn't really find this to be much more than the sum of its parts. However, I ended up throwing it into a stir-fry with some tofu and other vegetables, and it tasted good in there... Maybe it would be better with another vegetable added in... possibly cucumber?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This was interesting. It's a very good combination of sweet and savory. I made it raw and shredded the carrots so they'd be tender and absorb the flavor. Instead of Splenda, I used 2 tsp of agave nectar (a natural sweetener). After tasting it, I added a touch more olive oil, cider vinegar, cinnamon, and ginger. And I used 4 dashes of cayenne--just enough to give it some heat, but not enough to burn your mouth. I bet this would be good topped with slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I actually don't like carrots but A friend brought some carrots over for me to cook and there were so many i was able to do several different things with them and this recipe was the best. She loved it!! I felt so good I had to tell her it wasn't my own, but that I got it from you and she still loved it, so kudos to you and thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen V,LMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graniteville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I made this without cooking the carrots and used honey instead of Splenda. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was a bit too different for us. If I would make it again, I'd cook the carrots for longer and I'd double the dressing, so the carrots won't be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This is a very good salad... It had a good tangy taste. I would encourage you not to take a short cut on the refridgerator time. The only change I will make on this recipie is to cut the carots into thinner slices My family loved it! I served this great salad while all the kids were home for the holidays. -- enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quadzero
Home Town: Le Mars, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Great recipe to take to family gatherings, esp. since it's best made the day before. Only change I made was using canola oil instead of olive oil (I'm allergic). Might try sesame oil next time. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Great! I made it according to the recipe and really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States