Gingery Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I made this dish exactly as written the first time and really liked the flavor, but my husband and I weren't wild about the texture of the cooked carrots. The next time I made it, I just shredded the raw carrots and added the dressing, and we liked it much better and it took less time to prepare. The flavor really does intensify if you wait 1-2 days before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDDIEB1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I made this for a church potluck. I did double the recipe with honey instead of artificial sweetener and didn't include raisins because I didn't have ay. Almost all of it was eaten and some people did come back for seconds. I think next time, I will leave out the cinnamon. Other than that, it's definitely a different flavor that I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Career2HomeSchoolMom
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This is fabulous! I just used raw carrots and grated them. I don't care for non-nutritive sweeteners, so I used demerara sugar (1 Tbsp instead of 2). Also, I didn't have any raisins, so I used dried cranberries instead. This recipe is a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bacon Butterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Next time we are gong to try these warm. We might like them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I fixed this recipe as printed. It was delicious. Even better the next day. Great for a low carb diet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
very yummy, but I would recommend taste-testing sauce and adjusting it to your liking. Used honey instead of splenda. I also added more ginger, cayenne pepper, and cinnamon. Family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was fantastic, light, and slightly exotic. I made a few changes according to some of the reviewers and my own tastes. I added honey in place of splenda. In place of the raisins I added dried dates. I also added some lemon juice, curry powder, and cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bearrrs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I tried this dish warmed to serve with the holiday meal and it didn't work as I had hoped. I cooked the carrots as suggested by others and made it a day ahead. The aroma was really dominated by the vinegar and had less of the gingery flavor than I hoped. I will try it again to serve cold as a summer salad because I still think this recipe has great potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I made this as a warm carrot dish. It was fantastic. Followed the directions with a few changes because of not having certain ingrediants. I used 2 tablespoons of honey as another review suggested instead of the splenda. Used 1/8 tsp ground ginger instead of fresh ginger. Omitted the rainins because I didn't have any. Mixed all together and then cooked on medium burner on the stove top until bubbly. These were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I changed the splenda to honey and omitted the raisins to make this delicious ginger marinated carrot salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States