Gingersnaps III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Unbelievably amazing cookies. I have made this recipe multiple times over the past few weeks due to demands! I followed the recipe exactly and, after making them a few times, found that baking for 9 minutes (in my oven) makes them come out perfect! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I substituted one 3.9 ounce carton of applesauce for half of the butter, used 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar instead of just white, and added 1 teaspoon of freshly-minced ginger. Overall, though, very fluffy and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Elisabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
These are delicious, far better than the bought ones. I preferred to make them about half of the 'walnut sized'. Substituting half of the shortening with applesauce makes them an even healthier cookie - you will need more flour to make a stiff enough dough. I was making a double batch, and needed to add about 1 cup more flour to get the dough stiff enough to gently shape them in my hands. Will definitely make this again. Even a double batch will not last long in this house. I hope to make more for gifts. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I've been using this recipe for years and absolutely love it! Quite a number of people have asked for the recipe over the years. Only things I do differently are to add 1/4 tsp. ground cardamon, use butter instead of shortening, and bake for exactly 10 mins. Cookies are soft and chewy, just like my husband likes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Very good! Made recipe as is, cookies had a crisp edge, and were very soft in the middle. They fell apart a little too. They also seemed to taste a little more like molasses cookies to me than true gingersnaps. Smelled odd (like incense) coming out of the oven, but still tasted very good, and were easy to make - will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I'm not sure if it's the recipe or me that made these cookies alot cakier than how I like my gingersnaps to be. (My perfect gingersnap has a soft stiffness and a melt in your mouth middle.) I got confused by the discription that the dough should be soft and a little sticky and thought I'd accidently skimped on the flour when it was alot sticky. In the future I WILL NOT add more flour. I will scrape the dough off of the spoon into the sugar and use the sugar like flour to help roll it into a ball. I also should mention that I subbed brown sugar for white sugar and margerine for shortening. I would be interested to know if this made my dough stickier than those who didn't substitute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne Lovie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
As a matter of personal preference I used brown sugar rather than white sugar and the results were perfect-a soft yet chewy cookie with tons of flavor. For a more festive look for my Christmas cookie trays I gave them a drizzle of white chocolate which was the perfect complement both in taste and presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
The best gingersnaps I ever baked! Chewy inside and crispy outside. I added an additional 1/2 teaspoon of ginger for even stronger taste and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I didn't have any molasses, so I used dark brown sugar for half the white and corn syrup. I imagine molasses would have made them even better. I also added a bit of butter flavoring. The cookies were extremely soft right out of the oven, but they firmed up pretty quickly, and days later they were still as tender as the poster of the recipe promised. (This recipe makes a lot, by the way- they weren't around days later for lack of consumption!) They're perfect seasonal cookies for the colder months. I served them at a gathering, and everybody said they were wonderful- even my husband, who insists that a cookie isn't a cookie unless it has chocolate chips in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Love these cookies. They smell and taste soooo good. I substituted becel margarine for the shortening and they turned out perfectly. Love how the sugar makes them sparkle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States