Gingersnaps II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This is my favorite ginger snap cookie. I have been making it for years, don't know why I didn't review it before. It's soft and chewy, a very "full" cookie. Easy to make, and always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This is the most wonderful gingersnap recipe ever! My mom made this exact recipe every year when I was growing up. I am so glad to find the recipe again! This makes soft gingersnaps, not the hard ones like you buy in the store. (Although if you want them crispy, just let them sit out for a day!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is the best gingersnap recipe I have ever tried. I copied the recipe exactly for this first time. Next time I may increase the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Delicious! Best gingersnap recipe I have ever made. I accidentally burnt the first batch, but the second batch worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
So good! Don't know if they're supposed to flatten out, but ours didn't. We do live in Denver though. Hard to stop eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These cookies are excellent and will definitely become a Christmas baking staple! The first time I made them, I followed the recipe exactly as printed. The cookies did not flatten out as illustrated, rather they remained in little balls and were quite chewy (just how I like them). I just made them again today, and I guess I was feeling impatient because I did not beat the ingredients, nor did I refrigerate for an hour. I just added all the ingredients together and stirred with a fork. This time, they flattened out like the picture, and were about 1/4 inch thick....still chewy but much flatter. I a pretty novice baker so maybe this is easily explained. Regardless...a great cookie!! I'm going to go eat one right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
My husband loved these and isn't a fan of gingerbread. These were the first recipe that I've come across that didn't taste too much like molasses. We will be using these for gingerbread cookies come Christmas for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Very good recipe! I realized I only had 1/4 C. shortening, so I substitited 1 stick of butter and 1/4 C. shortening and they turned out fantastic! 10 minutes on a Silpat and they were perfectly browned. Gonna serve these with some Pumpkin Ice Cream for Thanksgiving...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
i have finshed making them and want to make following comments: 1) I suggest 4 to 5 tbsps. of ground ginger + 1 tsp ground nutmeg + 2 tsps ground cloves + 1 tbsp cinnamon. 2) recommend 3/4 cup sugar in the recipe and then use 1/4 cup sugar to roll the biscuits in before laying in the tray with 2" space. 3) use a small glass to press the biscuits quite flat then bake, this helps to make them crispy.For GInger fans i suggest the addition of some fresh ginger-juice made by grating fresh ginger and then straining the juice. Alternatively add finely chopped ginger preserve as well as the ginger powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
These were awesome! I made them quite small, like the ones that you get in the store. They turned out perfect. They were just a bit crunchy, with the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States