Gingersnap Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I loved the flavor of the crust but it was sure hard to get it out of the pie pan to serve. (maybe is was a user error) The filling was interesting but was just missing something I can't put my finger on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This rating is for the crust ONLY (I did not make the filling recipe, since I used my favorite - Paula Deen's pumpkin/cream cheese filling). I would give the crust 5 stars except that I did make an adjustment to the recipe as written, out of necessity. I was about 1/2 cup shy of the full amount of gingersnap crumbs, so I improvised and used crumbled up crispy homemade sugar cookies for the remainder. Mixed it all together with the sugar and butter, and the result was a really nice, kind of chewy crust that held in the filling nicely and won raves. I am a lover of standard pie crusts, but this crust is my go-to crust for pumpkin pies from now on. Next time I will try it exactly as the recipe calls for, without the sugar cookies as stand in's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy Shipman Weidenbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Oh my Goodness!!! I made this on a chance to make it for Thanksgiving and served it to some friends who were visiting from out of town. Everyone raved, even my picky mil who is very traditional about Thanksgiving dinner. I followed "ohiodeb" review to a "T" and was very thankful I did. We will be having this pie for Thanksgiving. Thank you for sharing your recipe Deanna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Westlake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made this pie but put some pecans in with the gingersnaps because I needed more volume. It was ok but I think I agree with some others that I like a flaky pie crust better. My husband thought it was pretty good and it certainly was easy to make. Mine sat up right away and it wasn't soggy. Put three eggs in the mix like someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
An almost perfect pumpkin pie recipe - this is the first time I made one, and it was EASY - I only altered the recipe slightly: For the crust, I substituted about 1/3 cup nuts (walnuts, pecans - for flavor and to add some nutritional benefits) into the cookies before processing, omitted the extra sugar, and used 2T of butter (crumbs were dry though - maybe coconut oil would be better?); For the filling, I only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar, added some ground cloves, and I used 2% evap milk. It tasted great, but I would definitely add more cinnamon and cloves next time. Once the pie cooled, and especially after being in the fridge overnight, the filling firmed up and the crust had a chewier texture, rather than the soft and somewhat soggy texture it had out of the oven. I also used natural ginger cookies with pieces of crystallized ginger in them, and that added a nice dimension to the crust. *I would recommend using cookies with crystallized ginger or adding some crystallized ginger to the crumb mix - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Wow, I really didn't know how to rate this. This was different. I made 2 pies, one with evaporated milk and one with eggnog instead. On both I found myself eating the filling and crust separately as though they didn’t go together. The filling was extra smooth and mild, and the crust was spicy and bold. I like both, but don't necessarily have the desire to have them together again. I’ll stick with the graham cracker crust for my pumpkin pies and figure out another pie for the gingersnap crust. (BTW, using eggnog instead of evaporated milk is really good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndAQT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I noticed that quite a few people complained that the pie was watery, that the crust was soggy, or that the crust burned. So, when I made this, I left the sugar out of the crust, as the cookies are sweet enough already, and the sugar is what caused the crust to burn for some people. Also, I used a package of cream cheese instead of the can of evaporated milk, so that it would not be soggy. Finally, I have found from experience, that if I ever use any number but 3 eggs when a pie requires them, that I will be sorry, so I made it with 3. It turned out phenomenal! The crust was crispy and sticky like candy, and buttery too. The combination of ginger and pumpkin was just so wonderful, it took me right back to my childhood and made me feel all euphoric and happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
YUMMY ... the first pie gone this year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I am not a pumpkin pie fan, but the holidays mean I have to offer it. The first time I made this, I mistakenly bought pumpkin pie filling instead of plain pumpkin, so I used the recipe on the Libby's can. Baking time was right on for this mixture to set, and the crust really adds some zip to counter what I think is the bland mushiness of pumpkin filling. I'm still not wild about pumpkin pie, but I happily finished my slice. I would give four stars for the crust alone, but the second time, we used the filling recipe here. As one reviewer pointed out, it did not look set. I let it bake about 15 minutes longer, but unfortunately, the extra time scorched the entire crust. When I make this again, I will follow that reviewer's advice to use the baking time suggested and let the pie completely set out of the oven. Or I'll just use the Libby's mixture again. The crumb crust takes up more room in the pan than a regular pie crust, and this recipe makes three times the amount of filling needed for one, non-deep-dish, 9-inch pie. Next time I will either increase the crust recipe or decrease the filling amount. Given the issue with the filling setting, I wouldn't recommend using a deep-dish pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
The crust was a little soggy and just too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States