Gingersnap Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I noticed that quite a few people complained that the pie was watery, that the crust was soggy, or that the crust burned. So, when I made this, I left the sugar out of the crust, as the cookies are sweet enough already, and the sugar is what caused the crust to burn for some people. Also, I used a package of cream cheese instead of the can of evaporated milk, so that it would not be soggy. Finally, I have found from experience, that if I ever use any number but 3 eggs when a pie requires them, that I will be sorry, so I made it with 3. It turned out phenomenal! The crust was crispy and sticky like candy, and buttery too. The combination of ginger and pumpkin was just so wonderful, it took me right back to my childhood and made me feel all euphoric and happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I love this recipe. I was just about to add it but see someone already did. I changed the recipe a little bit to suit my taste. First of all, I just use the entire 15oz can of pumpkin. I never know what to do with the little bit of "extra" so I tried adding it. The pie came out great. I also add 1/2 tsp. ground ginger and substitute cloves for the nutmeg. My husband loves this too. He commented that the top tastes just a regular pumpkin pie, but that the crust is so much more flavorful. Well, I'm off to make one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
When baking this pie, note that it is watery when it is removed from the oven and will set as it cools. The flavor is good, but the texture a little thick; next time I will omit the cornstarch. It is not my favorite, but my family and guests loved it, so I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
I thought this pie recipe was great. Didn't have quite enough gingersnap crumbs so added some vanilla wafer crumbs with it and it worked fine. I certainly will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
gingersnap crust becomes soggy and blends in with the pumpkin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I used only the gingersnap crust portion of this recipe (I have my own pumpkin pie filling recipe), and it was fantastic! I did need to add an additional Tbl of butter to the crust to make it press into the pan without crumbling. The 2nd time I made this, I left off the sugar (the cookies have plenty!). Would do that again! One tip is to pour the filling almost all the way to the edge, that way, not so much crust is showing (the molasses in the cookies makes the crust look burned, although it isn't). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Very good. A nice twist on traditional pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
So much healthier than crusts made with shortening or lard, and everyone loved this pie! Said they preferred by far to traditional Pumpkin Pie. I used only 2 T. butter and baked my crust about 10 minutes because my gingersnaps were stale. I also used fresh ground clove instead of nutmeg. I had 8 3/4" pie tin, and had to bake 1 hr 10 m. This my new Pumpkin Pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I served this pie for christmas. Everyone seemed to love it. The spice crust added lots of flavor to the old pumkin pie. I took the suggestions of baking the the crust longer to keep it from turning out soggy but it didn't work for me. I would prefer to crispier crust but my husband love it chewy/firm. My father stated that he love how it was chewy like candy. When the pie was a day old the crust became more crispy.(strange) This pie is worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I am not a pumpkin pie fan, but the holidays mean I have to offer it. The first time I made this, I mistakenly bought pumpkin pie filling instead of plain pumpkin, so I used the recipe on the Libby's can. Baking time was right on for this mixture to set, and the crust really adds some zip to counter what I think is the bland mushiness of pumpkin filling. I'm still not wild about pumpkin pie, but I happily finished my slice. I would give four stars for the crust alone, but the second time, we used the filling recipe here. As one reviewer pointed out, it did not look set. I let it bake about 15 minutes longer, but unfortunately, the extra time scorched the entire crust. When I make this again, I will follow that reviewer's advice to use the baking time suggested and let the pie completely set out of the oven. Or I'll just use the Libby's mixture again. The crumb crust takes up more room in the pan than a regular pie crust, and this recipe makes three times the amount of filling needed for one, non-deep-dish, 9-inch pie. Next time I will either increase the crust recipe or decrease the filling amount. Given the issue with the filling setting, I wouldn't recommend using a deep-dish pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Blanchard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States