Gingersnap Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I see that others had a hard time with the density of the pie. As did I so I lowered the oven to 270 and cooked to until the center turned stiff. Let cool completely. Wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This pie was a HUGE HIT! I made it for Thanksgiving 2014, substituting steamed butternut squash from our garden for the canned pumpkin. I also used fresh grated nutmeg. It took much longer to cook because of the butternut squash substitution I think. It probably had a higher water content than the canned pumpkin. To tell when it was done I would shake the pie plate gently and if I could still see liquid moving around, I would bake it 10 minutes or more. The gingersnap crust came out nicely caramelized (I used Mi-Del cookies). This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I loved the flavor of the crust but it was sure hard to get it out of the pie pan to serve. (maybe is was a user error) The filling was interesting but was just missing something I can't put my finger on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This rating is for the crust ONLY (I did not make the filling recipe, since I used my favorite - Paula Deen's pumpkin/cream cheese filling). I would give the crust 5 stars except that I did make an adjustment to the recipe as written, out of necessity. I was about 1/2 cup shy of the full amount of gingersnap crumbs, so I improvised and used crumbled up crispy homemade sugar cookies for the remainder. Mixed it all together with the sugar and butter, and the result was a really nice, kind of chewy crust that held in the filling nicely and won raves. I am a lover of standard pie crusts, but this crust is my go-to crust for pumpkin pies from now on. Next time I will try it exactly as the recipe calls for, without the sugar cookies as stand in's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy Shipman Weidenbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Oh my Goodness!!! I made this on a chance to make it for Thanksgiving and served it to some friends who were visiting from out of town. Everyone raved, even my picky mil who is very traditional about Thanksgiving dinner. I followed "ohiodeb" review to a "T" and was very thankful I did. We will be having this pie for Thanksgiving. Thank you for sharing your recipe Deanna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Westlake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made this pie but put some pecans in with the gingersnaps because I needed more volume. It was ok but I think I agree with some others that I like a flaky pie crust better. My husband thought it was pretty good and it certainly was easy to make. Mine sat up right away and it wasn't soggy. Put three eggs in the mix like someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
An almost perfect pumpkin pie recipe - this is the first time I made one, and it was EASY - I only altered the recipe slightly: For the crust, I substituted about 1/3 cup nuts (walnuts, pecans - for flavor and to add some nutritional benefits) into the cookies before processing, omitted the extra sugar, and used 2T of butter (crumbs were dry though - maybe coconut oil would be better?); For the filling, I only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar, added some ground cloves, and I used 2% evap milk. It tasted great, but I would definitely add more cinnamon and cloves next time. Once the pie cooled, and especially after being in the fridge overnight, the filling firmed up and the crust had a chewier texture, rather than the soft and somewhat soggy texture it had out of the oven. I also used natural ginger cookies with pieces of crystallized ginger in them, and that added a nice dimension to the crust. *I would recommend using cookies with crystallized ginger or adding some crystallized ginger to the crumb mix - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Wow, I really didn't know how to rate this. This was different. I made 2 pies, one with evaporated milk and one with eggnog instead. On both I found myself eating the filling and crust separately as though they didn’t go together. The filling was extra smooth and mild, and the crust was spicy and bold. I like both, but don't necessarily have the desire to have them together again. I’ll stick with the graham cracker crust for my pumpkin pies and figure out another pie for the gingersnap crust. (BTW, using eggnog instead of evaporated milk is really good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndAQT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I noticed that quite a few people complained that the pie was watery, that the crust was soggy, or that the crust burned. So, when I made this, I left the sugar out of the crust, as the cookies are sweet enough already, and the sugar is what caused the crust to burn for some people. Also, I used a package of cream cheese instead of the can of evaporated milk, so that it would not be soggy. Finally, I have found from experience, that if I ever use any number but 3 eggs when a pie requires them, that I will be sorry, so I made it with 3. It turned out phenomenal! The crust was crispy and sticky like candy, and buttery too. The combination of ginger and pumpkin was just so wonderful, it took me right back to my childhood and made me feel all euphoric and happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
YUMMY ... the first pie gone this year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States