Gingered Pork Chops in Orange Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I tried this recipe, but I tweaked it a little. It turned out to be the best pork chops we had had in a while. I read all the reviews and took some suggestions from there. One thing I kept reading was that the pork chops were bland so I decide to fix this first. To the flour mixture I added 1 tsp. of minced onion, 1 tsp. of onion powder, dash of onion salt, 1 tsp. garlic powder, dash of garlic salt, and dash of paprika. To the liquid mixture I added 1 tablespoon of cornstarch, 1/2 cup of red wine instead of brandy, and 1 tbls of brown sugar. I only poured in 3/4 cup of orange juice not the 1 1/2 cups it called for. I let it marinate for 1 hour, then I cooked for 2 hours. The pork chops were the best. The sauce was not to thick or too thin just perfect. The pork chops were tender and juicy cooked to perfection. They also had the right amount of seasoning incorporated into the flour mixture so they were not bland. Our first time trying this recipe and definitely not the last done with my adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
My husband really liked this (commenting it was "excellent"), and I liked it very much too. This is a good starting recipe, one which benefits from some tweaking. I'm glad I used the suggestions of others in terms of using far less orange juice, and adding some worcestershire sauce and minced garlic. I used fresh chopped ginger, next time I think I'll use ground (powdered ginger)--it'll just work a lot better in the shaking bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
i LOVED IT! I used the left over flour and Orange Juice, Onions and Fresh Sage and fried them together for 6 mins. Added them to the casserole dish and it came out good. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aransas Pass, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Cut down on the orange juice a tad and this is a super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephinebat10
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Thought I'd try something different with pork and saw this with an orange sauce, sounded rather interesting. It cooked up well, but was a bit disappointed with final results. The only thing I changed was deleted the brandy as I didn't have any, didn't think 15ml would make much of a difference. Will try again, but with some tweaking, not sure at this stage what I'd change though. Served with steamed vegies and mustard mash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephinebat10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
the breading did become soggy in the juices and it was bland. It was also not easy to cut, but was tender when u chewed it. So, added more salt,onion powder and garlic powder and baked it for an addt'l 20min and spooned some of the juice over the meat. That extra gave it more flavor and it was tender to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
The first pork chops my husband has liked in a long time.I added a teaspoon of diced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha C.
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
These were okay but a little bland...will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Good meal if you like OJ. The kids enjoyed the taste however it was to much for my husband. I only had Sunny D next time I will tried 100% OJ and less. Was not watery since I used a tablespoon of cornstarch as stated by other reviews. Overall it did have a good and different flavor for chops. Also I cooked addtion 15 mins and the meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States