Gingered Pork Chops in Orange Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Very easy...used some of the suggestions in the reviews...added garlic powder to the flour mix, garlic to the onions and red wine vinegar instead of brandy. I only used 1 cup of oj and it was perfect! I would use less ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I made this for 2 and it came out perfect. I poured the orange juice around the chops not over them and they did not get mushy. Hubby liked them and especially the onions on top. Served with Garlic potatoes, and used the juice as gravy. Green Beans and a salad. thank you for the receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My family has never tried a recipe like this before and I was a little nervous. My kids are 6,8,10,12 and my husband is a picky eater too. But it was a success. We even had my sister in law over with her boyfriend and they liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is a good recipe and something a little different for pork chops. The flavors were a nice combination. I didn't have brandy, so I used triple sec. Also, after baking the pork chops I thickened the sauce with a little cornstarch. Will make these again and will try the recipe with the brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Enjoyed this recipe. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Well, I thought this was a great recipe. I did do a few things differently, but not enough to change it completely. I seasoned the chops with salt and pepper, ginger, garlic and paprika, and dusted with flour. Sauteed them in a large frypan and then removed them. I sauteed the onions with garlic, added the brandy (which is important in this recipe, though bourbon could be substituted as another rater mentioned), and a few tablespoons of OJ concentrate and enough wter to make a nice sauce. I then added the chops back to the pan, turned them several times to coat them, covered the pan and simmered them until cooked. They were tender and very flavorful, and I used only one pan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe. I followed the instructions exactly and it turned out wonderful! It is now one of the recipes in our "favorite recipes" box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I made this tonight and it was great! I did add the ingredients suggested and reduced the orange juice. My husband liked it and normally he's not overly fond of pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This was a tasty flavor profile. I did make some of the suggested changes to the recipe and the chops turned out moist and flavorful. I used boneless chops so I only cooked it for 30 mins and that was plenty. I added garlic powder & paprika to flour mixture. I cooked the onions in the pan and added only 1 cup of OJ to the onions as they cooked to deglaze pan and about 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar and about 1 tbsp cornstarch to thicken sauce. Served this up with some mashed potatoes and veggie and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I didn't flour the pork chops, just rubbed in salt, pepper and some powdered ginger. Browned them, then removed to the casserole dish and did the onions. In a saucepan I combined the OJ with a T. of Grand Marnier, a tsp of white balsamic vinegar, a tsp of brown sugar, 1/4 tsp of ginger and a couple of tsp of cornstach to thicken. My husband really liked it, but I think it could still use a little more zing. Next time I think I'll add a bit more vinegar and perhaps some fresh minced ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States