Gingered Pork Chops in Orange Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
After reading the reviews I was a little aprehensive to try this. I tweaked the recipe a bit and it was a success! We are a garlic loving family so I put in garlic powder in with flour, ginger,etc. and fried up garlic cloves with the onions. I didn't have Brandy so I added a splash of red wine vinegar. The aroma was intense. I didn't use a lot of OJ and added a hint of ginger to the juices. My family loved this although I myself didn't feel my tasebuds pop. I did like it and will make it again because the kids enjoyed it as well as hubby. Next time however I will tweak it some more. All in all, not a bad recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elliot Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Copper Cliff, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I thought the breading on the pork chops became soggy in the sauce. I didn't have any brandy so I substitued balsamic vinegar and the sauce was great. I added a little corn starch to thicken it up, otherwise, I think it would have been watery. I made it with some egg noodles on the side and spooned some of the sauce over those and they turned out better than the pork chops. I'd make it again, but I think I'll skip the breading of the chops next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
This is an easy recipe, the one that my whole family likes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
very good!! I made a few changes... instead of olive oil, i used virgin coconut oil (it added a light nutty flavor) and some rubbed sage to the pan while cooking the onions. As some of the reviews stated that the orange juice was too watery, i used concentrated orange juice but did not add as much water as recommended... It turned out great!! very tender and quite a bit of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This recipe was all right. It is not a favorite, but something I would make every now and then just for something different. I have made it twice -- once following the directions as is and the second making some tweaks. The first time the orange taste was just too strong, and there was just something that didn't work for my family -- although I am not really sure what it was. We didn't really dislike it, but we didn't love it either. We liked the second go-around much better. I dropped the flour, onions, olive oil, and brandy altogether and mixed together the following: 1/2 cup orange juice, ginger, salt, pepper, 1-teaspoon sage, half a packet of Lipton Golden Onion Soup Mix, splash of red wine, and added a tablespoon of brown sugar. I then let my chops marinate in this mixture for an hour before covering them and baking them at 350 for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
I cooked this tonight for my family;they did not like it. The flavor was bland and the chops were swimming in liquid...I don't know if it was because they were thick that the flavors didn't permeate or what. Also they were a bit tough. Maybe the meat, not the recipe. It had a great odor while baking though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Blah! Our pork chops went to waste! I fed the leftovers to the dog and we went to bed hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This recipe was an average recipe. My family and I thought the taste was okay but there was nothing extraordinary about it. I fixed it exactly as the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This was not particularly impressive. We did change the recipe very slightly by using fresh Japanese ginger in the orange juice, and used raspberry extract instead of the brandy. 350 for 45 minutes was no where near hot enough. We ended up baking at 350 for 60 minutes, then 450 for 20 minutes to obtain a 140F internal temp. As these were quite bland we ended up adding a good portion of fresh ground Hawaiian lava salt, and then finally doused them in smoked worcestershire sauce, which finally made them edible. If I were to try this recipe again, I would mix the orange juice with the worcestershire sauce before baking, and then add a diced habanero tossed in just to make it memorable. This recipe most certainly does need tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I found this recipe for chops to be interesting and quite good. Thanks for submitting. Ô¿Ô
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARLOLINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States