Gingered Pork Chops in Orange Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This recipe was pretty good. We followed it exactly, except for the brandy (we used another kind of alcohol we had on hand). The only problem was the there was alot of extra onions & sauce when it came out of the oven. We might fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This was not particularly impressive. We did change the recipe very slightly by using fresh Japanese ginger in the orange juice, and used raspberry extract instead of the brandy. 350 for 45 minutes was no where near hot enough. We ended up baking at 350 for 60 minutes, then 450 for 20 minutes to obtain a 140F internal temp. As these were quite bland we ended up adding a good portion of fresh ground Hawaiian lava salt, and then finally doused them in smoked worcestershire sauce, which finally made them edible. If I were to try this recipe again, I would mix the orange juice with the worcestershire sauce before baking, and then add a diced habanero tossed in just to make it memorable. This recipe most certainly does need tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
The whole family really enjoyed these chops. Instead of pouring the juice directly into the casserole, I added it to the fry pan along with the onions and brandy and let it boil for about 5 or 10 minutes until it reduced a little. I also added about 1/2 tsp ginger to the orange juice but I think the next time I'm going to add a little more ginger (maybe a tsp or more) as there wasn't a very strong ginger taste. But it was really good none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
WAS PRETTY GOOD BUT WILL USE POWDERED GINGER NEXT TIME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This recipe was pretty good actually. Rather than bread the pork chops, I just cooked the onion, then added sherry (since I had no brandy), then the orange juice and I cooked pork chops that were seasoned with all the recipe called for right in the juices. Very good flavor. My husband like it alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
The whole family liked them! I did tweak it to meet my family's diet needs and the ingredients I had on hand. Here's what I did: left out the flour but combined the ginger, pepper, and 1/4 tsp garlic salt I also subbed red wine vinegar for brandy. Sprinkled dry seasonings over both sides of chops and browned on both sides in 2 tbsp EVOO. Put chops in baking dish after browning and combined vinegar and 3/4 cup orange juice in the chops pan to capture the flavor of chops and seasonings. Poured juice over chops and baked covered for 30 min (my chops weren't that thick). Turned out great, even my picky 2 year old ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This recipe is on the verge of being pretty good. It needs something, but I don't know what. Here's what I did to it. I didn't have any brandy, so I used Cointreau orange liqueur. I used 1/4 cup instead of a TBSP. I also added 1 tsp orange peel to the flour mixture. I cut the orange juice to 1 cup and at the end, mixed it with a little cornstarch to make a sauce. I served it with rice. Overall, pretty bland and tasteless. I didn't really taste much orange, or ginger for that matter. Like I said, this recipe is on the verge of being good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
My finace and I made these earlier this week and the first thing my mother in law said was, 'you have to give me this recipe'. Everyone loved them and I will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
After reading the reviews I was a little aprehensive to try this. I tweaked the recipe a bit and it was a success! We are a garlic loving family so I put in garlic powder in with flour, ginger,etc. and fried up garlic cloves with the onions. I didn't have Brandy so I added a splash of red wine vinegar. The aroma was intense. I didn't use a lot of OJ and added a hint of ginger to the juices. My family loved this although I myself didn't feel my tasebuds pop. I did like it and will make it again because the kids enjoyed it as well as hubby. Next time however I will tweak it some more. All in all, not a bad recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elliot Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Copper Cliff, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I made this recipe with my 11 year old daughter- it was very easy! We opted to omit the brandy and used thinner pork chops to speed things along. We were very pleased with this interesting recipe-would've scored it a 5 if it had a bit more of a kick to the sauce; maybe the OJ diluted it a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chepachet, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Barton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States