Gingered Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is WONDERFUL! We have made it so many times we don't use the recipe anymore; it is very forgiving. At different times, I have used skim milk, homemade chicken or vegetable broth, no olive oil (use broth for sauteing) At one point, I had some extra pumpkin puree, so I added it. Now we call this soup Pumpkin Carrot soup. Our favorite! For us, it is so much better if it has a nice ginger kick - I can't say how much. We always just throw these ingredients into the pot and it always turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Nice and comforting, not a heavy soup to welcome the fall. I love cumin so I added whole seeds as well as the powdered. Hubs doesn't care for ginger so I only used half of what was called for. Also used vegetable stock instead of chicken and added a touch more salt. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was an easy, delicious recipe. Even my kids loved this soup! I skipped the cumin and just used salt and pepper. I will make this often during the fall and winter seasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I'm not a huge carrot fan, but found this recipe because I needed to use up some carrots. The recipe is delicious, so I have made it many times since. I use skim milk instead of evaporated milk or half and half it make it healthier. Still very delicious even with the skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I was looking for a "gingered" soup recipe to make for a dear friend going through chemo therapy treatments to help with her nausea. I cut back slightly on the ginger so that it wouldn't be too overpowering and used skim milk to keep it a little lighter on the stomach. The perfect solution and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This is a delicious soup! But be sure you like ginger, because it definitely packs a good ginger punch! I went with grating the ginger and used the amount called for. Also I used 3 cups stock and half and half. I think it would be just as good with low fat milk. I pureed it with my immersion blender, seasoned it with some salt, and presto! Delicious, spicy, flavorful soup! Today for lunch, I topped it with a dollop of fat free greek yogurt. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Added 1 large parsnip. Didn't have evaporated milk or half & half, so I used 1/2 cup heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
The soup was great. I used 1/8 cup of the grated fresh ginger and that seemed to be the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This soup was sooo amazing! I didnt think I would like it as much as I did. I didnt follow the recipe exactly but it was still very easy and simple. usually I mess recipes up the first time I try them but I had no trouble making this. the changes I made : I added 1tbsp of grated ginger, 3/4 cup of 2% milk, 1 tbsp cumin, and I made homemade chicken stock for a more hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States