Gingered Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Nice and comforting, not a heavy soup to welcome the fall. I love cumin so I added whole seeds as well as the powdered. Hubs doesn't care for ginger so I only used half of what was called for. Also used vegetable stock instead of chicken and added a touch more salt. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was an easy, delicious recipe. Even my kids loved this soup! I skipped the cumin and just used salt and pepper. I will make this often during the fall and winter seasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I'm not a huge carrot fan, but found this recipe because I needed to use up some carrots. The recipe is delicious, so I have made it many times since. I use skim milk instead of evaporated milk or half and half it make it healthier. Still very delicious even with the skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This soup was sooo amazing! I didnt think I would like it as much as I did. I didnt follow the recipe exactly but it was still very easy and simple. usually I mess recipes up the first time I try them but I had no trouble making this. the changes I made : I added 1tbsp of grated ginger, 3/4 cup of 2% milk, 1 tbsp cumin, and I made homemade chicken stock for a more hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is WONDERFUL! We have made it so many times we don't use the recipe anymore; it is very forgiving. At different times, I have used skim milk, homemade chicken or vegetable broth, no olive oil (use broth for sauteing) At one point, I had some extra pumpkin puree, so I added it. Now we call this soup Pumpkin Carrot soup. Our favorite! For us, it is so much better if it has a nice ginger kick - I can't say how much. We always just throw these ingredients into the pot and it always turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This is a delicious soup! But be sure you like ginger, because it definitely packs a good ginger punch! I went with grating the ginger and used the amount called for. Also I used 3 cups stock and half and half. I think it would be just as good with low fat milk. I pureed it with my immersion blender, seasoned it with some salt, and presto! Delicious, spicy, flavorful soup! Today for lunch, I topped it with a dollop of fat free greek yogurt. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I was looking for a "gingered" soup recipe to make for a dear friend going through chemo therapy treatments to help with her nausea. I cut back slightly on the ginger so that it wouldn't be too overpowering and used skim milk to keep it a little lighter on the stomach. The perfect solution and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Added 1 large parsnip. Didn't have evaporated milk or half & half, so I used 1/2 cup heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
The soup was great. I used 1/8 cup of the grated fresh ginger and that seemed to be the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States