Gingered Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great soup alternative for a cool fall night. I noticed the ingredient list shows 4 cups chicken stock but directions call for only 3 cups. I used 3 and the soup came out creamy...just right. I didn't have cumin but substituted rosemary..worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I'm not a huge carrot fan, but found this recipe because I needed to use up some carrots. The recipe is delicious, so I have made it many times since. I use skim milk instead of evaporated milk or half and half it make it healthier. Still very delicious even with the skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I followed the recipe without straying. I burned the first batch of onion, ginger, and garlic, because it took much less than 8 minutes on the stove. The soup is full of flavor, and quite filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was a great soup to eat in small amounts. The ginger really gives it a kick, but the taste of the chicken stock seemed to overpower the carrot. It made a nice side for my Chinese noodle dish, but it's not the kind of soup I can really grub on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUCK778

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
The ingredients list calls for "grated" fresh ginger, but the directions say to add "minced" ginger...big flavor difference between the two. I'm really not sure what's needed, but 1/4 cup grated is a lot, and you puree the soup anyway, so I would think minced??? Admittedly, I've only had carrot soup several times in my life, but it's always been creamy/thick, so that's what I expected. Even after cooking the soup down for another 30 minutes after adding the half-and-half, it was still too thin, at least for me. I love Kitchen Basics, it's the only stock that I buy, but I didn't find this soup to have a lot of flavor. Could be the confusion over the fresh ginger, perhaps not enough was added?? Just a bit of a disappointment. Think I'll stick with a couple butternut squash recipes from AR that I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Oh my. I had this saved in my recipe box for the longest and looked forward to making it, but even still, this soup far exceeded my expectations. WOW! This is amazing. I will be making this again and again. My little brain cannot comprehend how these few ingredients combine into something so special. I followed the recipe but only had dried powdered ginger....I cannot wait to try this with fresh ginger! 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This was really lovely. I wasn't sure about the amount of ginger since the volume really varies depending whether you grate or mince and how finely. I used a 2" piece of root and found it gave the soup a good sharp zing although the grated ginger was nowhere near 1/4 cup. I love the flavour combination and couldn't believe that such a small amount of cumin set off the ginger so beautifully. Used a home-made stock and found no need to add salt. Will definitely serve this to company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Fantastic! The only changes I made were to swap out the chicken stock for vegetable broth and omit the milk for a nice and healthy vegan soup. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obituary mambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Nice and comforting, not a heavy soup to welcome the fall. I love cumin so I added whole seeds as well as the powdered. Hubs doesn't care for ginger so I only used half of what was called for. Also used vegetable stock instead of chicken and added a touch more salt. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
wayyy too much ginger! I would do 1/8 cup next time. Other than that, good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States