Gingered Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Nice and comforting, not a heavy soup to welcome the fall. I love cumin so I added whole seeds as well as the powdered. Hubs doesn't care for ginger so I only used half of what was called for. Also used vegetable stock instead of chicken and added a touch more salt. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was an easy, delicious recipe. Even my kids loved this soup! I skipped the cumin and just used salt and pepper. I will make this often during the fall and winter seasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybugcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
The ingredients list calls for "grated" fresh ginger, but the directions say to add "minced" ginger...big flavor difference between the two. I'm really not sure what's needed, but 1/4 cup grated is a lot, and you puree the soup anyway, so I would think minced??? Admittedly, I've only had carrot soup several times in my life, but it's always been creamy/thick, so that's what I expected. Even after cooking the soup down for another 30 minutes after adding the half-and-half, it was still too thin, at least for me. I love Kitchen Basics, it's the only stock that I buy, but I didn't find this soup to have a lot of flavor. Could be the confusion over the fresh ginger, perhaps not enough was added?? Just a bit of a disappointment. Think I'll stick with a couple butternut squash recipes from AR that I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
wayyy too much ginger! I would do 1/8 cup next time. Other than that, good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tyaya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great soup alternative for a cool fall night. I noticed the ingredient list shows 4 cups chicken stock but directions call for only 3 cups. I used 3 and the soup came out creamy...just right. I didn't have cumin but substituted rosemary..worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I'm not a huge carrot fan, but found this recipe because I needed to use up some carrots. The recipe is delicious, so I have made it many times since. I use skim milk instead of evaporated milk or half and half it make it healthier. Still very delicious even with the skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I followed the recipe without straying. I burned the first batch of onion, ginger, and garlic, because it took much less than 8 minutes on the stove. The soup is full of flavor, and quite filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was a great soup to eat in small amounts. The ginger really gives it a kick, but the taste of the chicken stock seemed to overpower the carrot. It made a nice side for my Chinese noodle dish, but it's not the kind of soup I can really grub on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUCK778

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I tried it today. It was really delicious and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States