Gingered Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Nice flavorful soup. I minced my ginger instead of grating,so 1/4 cup wasn't too much, I also only used 3 cups chicken stock and it turned out very nice and creamy. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Overall I loved this soup! However, I think that it tasted more like ginger than carrots... not necessarily a bad thing, but it's just a fact. I used evaporated milk & it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I used equal parts ginger and garlic (4 cloves), and substituted whole milk instead of evaporated. Just a dash of salt and cumin (no pepper necessary - there's already a lot of spice going on) and the soup came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This was really lovely. I wasn't sure about the amount of ginger since the volume really varies depending whether you grate or mince and how finely. I used a 2" piece of root and found it gave the soup a good sharp zing although the grated ginger was nowhere near 1/4 cup. I love the flavour combination and couldn't believe that such a small amount of cumin set off the ginger so beautifully. Used a home-made stock and found no need to add salt. Will definitely serve this to company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I tried it today. It was really delicious and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was a great soup to eat in small amounts. The ginger really gives it a kick, but the taste of the chicken stock seemed to overpower the carrot. It made a nice side for my Chinese noodle dish, but it's not the kind of soup I can really grub on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUCK778

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I followed the recipe without straying. I burned the first batch of onion, ginger, and garlic, because it took much less than 8 minutes on the stove. The soup is full of flavor, and quite filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I'm not a huge carrot fan, but found this recipe because I needed to use up some carrots. The recipe is delicious, so I have made it many times since. I use skim milk instead of evaporated milk or half and half it make it healthier. Still very delicious even with the skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great soup alternative for a cool fall night. I noticed the ingredient list shows 4 cups chicken stock but directions call for only 3 cups. I used 3 and the soup came out creamy...just right. I didn't have cumin but substituted rosemary..worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
wayyy too much ginger! I would do 1/8 cup next time. Other than that, good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tyaya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States