Gingered Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is WONDERFUL! We have made it so many times we don't use the recipe anymore; it is very forgiving. At different times, I have used skim milk, homemade chicken or vegetable broth, no olive oil (use broth for sauteing) At one point, I had some extra pumpkin puree, so I added it. Now we call this soup Pumpkin Carrot soup. Our favorite! For us, it is so much better if it has a nice ginger kick - I can't say how much. We always just throw these ingredients into the pot and it always turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Don't get me wrong, this soup is delicious! I would give it four and a half stars if it was possible. However...it was missing...something. The spices weren't quite marrying like they could've. I think playing around with the spices could take this recipe from a good soup to a fantastic one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Gosh I absolutely LOVED this!! Love Love Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Nice flavorful soup. I minced my ginger instead of grating,so 1/4 cup wasn't too much, I also only used 3 cups chicken stock and it turned out very nice and creamy. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Overall I loved this soup! However, I think that it tasted more like ginger than carrots... not necessarily a bad thing, but it's just a fact. I used evaporated milk & it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I used equal parts ginger and garlic (4 cloves), and substituted whole milk instead of evaporated. Just a dash of salt and cumin (no pepper necessary - there's already a lot of spice going on) and the soup came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This was really lovely. I wasn't sure about the amount of ginger since the volume really varies depending whether you grate or mince and how finely. I used a 2" piece of root and found it gave the soup a good sharp zing although the grated ginger was nowhere near 1/4 cup. I love the flavour combination and couldn't believe that such a small amount of cumin set off the ginger so beautifully. Used a home-made stock and found no need to add salt. Will definitely serve this to company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I tried it today. It was really delicious and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was a great soup to eat in small amounts. The ginger really gives it a kick, but the taste of the chicken stock seemed to overpower the carrot. It made a nice side for my Chinese noodle dish, but it's not the kind of soup I can really grub on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUCK778

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I followed the recipe without straying. I burned the first batch of onion, ginger, and garlic, because it took much less than 8 minutes on the stove. The soup is full of flavor, and quite filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States