Gingered Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
OMG this is *SO* good! I've made this several times and have used different combinations of veggies each time depending on how many carrots I had in the fridge. It's good with added zucchini, potatoes, celery-- haven't found anything yet that doesn't combine well with the carrots! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
It was not something to write home about, I agree with some of the other reviews, the ginger is way to powerful, I would suggest cutting the amount to 1/8 cup. I added more cumin powder as it was a little bland. This recipe could be boosted up if dill was added to the recipe. Wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I cut back on the fresh ginger and it was still a bit much. I used vegetable broth (I'm vegetarian) and rice milk (1 1/2c.) instead of evaporated milk. I will definitely continue working on this recipe - maybe 1/8 c. ginger, but it is sure good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarensPerspective

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Delicious, I made it truly vegetarian by using a vegetable based chicken bouillion cube in place of the broth & rice milk for the cows milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Craig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Oh my. I had this saved in my recipe box for the longest and looked forward to making it, but even still, this soup far exceeded my expectations. WOW! This is amazing. I will be making this again and again. My little brain cannot comprehend how these few ingredients combine into something so special. I followed the recipe but only had dried powdered ginger....I cannot wait to try this with fresh ginger! 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This soup was sooo amazing! I didnt think I would like it as much as I did. I didnt follow the recipe exactly but it was still very easy and simple. usually I mess recipes up the first time I try them but I had no trouble making this. the changes I made : I added 1tbsp of grated ginger, 3/4 cup of 2% milk, 1 tbsp cumin, and I made homemade chicken stock for a more hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
The soup was great. I used 1/8 cup of the grated fresh ginger and that seemed to be the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Added 1 large parsnip. Didn't have evaporated milk or half & half, so I used 1/2 cup heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This is a delicious soup! But be sure you like ginger, because it definitely packs a good ginger punch! I went with grating the ginger and used the amount called for. Also I used 3 cups stock and half and half. I think it would be just as good with low fat milk. I pureed it with my immersion blender, seasoned it with some salt, and presto! Delicious, spicy, flavorful soup! Today for lunch, I topped it with a dollop of fat free greek yogurt. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I was looking for a "gingered" soup recipe to make for a dear friend going through chemo therapy treatments to help with her nausea. I cut back slightly on the ginger so that it wouldn't be too overpowering and used skim milk to keep it a little lighter on the stomach. The perfect solution and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States