Gingerbread Waffles with Hot Chocolate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
The kids loved this when we served it as one of the dishes at our Christmas Eve brunch. It had to be the all time hit for the kids. I thinned the batter some though and it seemed to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
A nice change from the ordinary, however the gingerbread texture tends to make these waffles not as light as waffles usually are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This would be a great dessert after a light meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
My husband and I were so excited to find this recipe - we love gingerbread waffles. As I mixed the batter I thought I'd found a keeper, but the texture of the waffles was very weird. They were difficult to get out of the waffle iron (very soft, although totally cooked) then after they were out of the iron for a few minutes they hardened/crisped up to the point that they weren't very edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
This is one of my husbands favorites. It is very rich and unique. We like it for special occasions. And we can only eat one!! Thanks for a keeper. I do turn the waffle iron over to get it out and it just plops nicely on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
a little to rich for the morning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
i loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This is a unique waffle that tastes great! As another reviewer stated, they do crisp on the outside until they are quite hard, but I used a belgian wafflemaker which I think enabled the waffle to be thick enough to still be nice and soft on the inside. Otherwise, I would say eat them right away, as they are very soft when warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I would make this again, but I really didn't care for it with the Chocolate sauce. In my opinion next time I'd make it with a Lemon sauce like you put on regular gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Made this for Valentines Day as I had some spare time. The chocolate sauce is divine, and the waffles are quite nice. Just about any waffle will get hard if you leave it sit long (these ones were no exception), but these are fluffy when fresh. Perhaps not quite worth the effort, but my family guessed what the flavour was, so they do taste like Gingerbread. Note that the batter looks very heavy, but it rises a lot when cooking. I only got 5 waffles out of it; in future I will halve the chocolate sauce recipe, as it made too much even though everyone used it By the way, I used "normal" molasses, and it was fine (what is "Light" molasses?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States