Gingerbread Waffles with Hot Chocolate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This makes the whole house smell great for a few days! The batter is really thick and the waffles are so yummy. I made these for breakfast,so I didn't want to use the chocolate sauce. I used Lemon Sauce I from this site, and it was great with these waffles. I think these waffles would be great under a scoop of ice cream, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
and i do love ginger, but this waffle was a bit too sweet, especially for the morning. thick-ish consistency too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Oh, yes! These waffles take an ordinary treat and make it extra special. I have always put chocolate on my waffles, but now I always put ginger IN the waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
I have made this on several occasions -- but serve it with Nutmeg Sauce. They are awesome! I even had to make some so my sister could share with co-workers cause she raved about them so much! 1/2 c white sugar 1 c boiling water 1 1/2 Tbsp flour 1 1/2 Tbsp butter salt 1 tsp vanilla 1/4 tsp nutmeg combine all dry ingredients in saucepan. Add boiling water stirring constantly. cook over low heat till thick and smooth. remove from heat, add butter and vanilla. (I find I need to at least double this recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
This recipe was really great! Reserve for special occasions only, it's almost a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Made this for Valentines Day as I had some spare time. The chocolate sauce is divine, and the waffles are quite nice. Just about any waffle will get hard if you leave it sit long (these ones were no exception), but these are fluffy when fresh. Perhaps not quite worth the effort, but my family guessed what the flavour was, so they do taste like Gingerbread. Note that the batter looks very heavy, but it rises a lot when cooking. I only got 5 waffles out of it; in future I will halve the chocolate sauce recipe, as it made too much even though everyone used it By the way, I used "normal" molasses, and it was fine (what is "Light" molasses?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I would make this again, but I really didn't care for it with the Chocolate sauce. In my opinion next time I'd make it with a Lemon sauce like you put on regular gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This is a unique waffle that tastes great! As another reviewer stated, they do crisp on the outside until they are quite hard, but I used a belgian wafflemaker which I think enabled the waffle to be thick enough to still be nice and soft on the inside. Otherwise, I would say eat them right away, as they are very soft when warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
i loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
a little to rich for the morning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States