Gingerbread People Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
The kitchen smelled fantastic! My dough turned out too runny, though. We couldn't cut shapes out of it at all but dropped it by spoonfuls and ended up with some really great tasting gingerbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Choudrant, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Simsboro, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
This recipe was SO bland, maybe why kids liked it. But even mine didn't care for it. Also, the dough spread on the cookie sheets so much, that you couldn't tell what the shapes were! I would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This is the first time i've made gingerbread cookies, and these were fantastic. I live in New Zealand, and used Golden Syrup instead of corn syrup or molasses (as one reviewer suggested). I also didn't use ginger, as I was out. I know, gingerbread cookies without ginger? I added a bit more cinnamon and used nutmeg instead. The cookies weren't at all spicy-hot (probably because of the lack of ginger), but they tasted wonderful! Can't wait to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I added 3 tablespoons of molasses for a more gingerbread taste. Also the gingerbread "people" looked looked like bloated blobs, probably too much baking powder? On the plus side, they were very tasty! Either way I won't be making this recipe anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
This are good cookies, I liked them, but I found them a little bit spicier and sweeter than I would've liked. I tried to do boys and girls, and they spread out so much, you couldn't tell what they were once they were done. I will definetly try another recipe for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
The cookies are soft enough to be edible, but firm enough to make good building material, about the texture of a good sugar cookie. They are lightly spiced enough that even the people who don't like gingerbread usually even enjoy them, but still have that wondeful gingerbread bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
These were wonderful. My son says they are nice and moist. The dough did spread when baking, my people looked very fat, but they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Donald, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
This recipe is more like a gingersnaps recipe rather than a soft and/or chewy gingerbread people recipe. However, they were really tasty and worked well with cutouts. The icing recipe worked very well. We added food coloring and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States