Gingerbread People Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
As someone who doesn't generally like gingerbread cookies, I thought these were good. They do taste more like a spicy snickerdoodle than a gingerbread like another reviewer stated, also I found them to be more of a crisp cookie. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
The kids ate these faster than we could bake them. I loved how easy it was to throw together and we even made some gingerbread houses with this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I love they way they taste plain but for the holiday I was going to decorate some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENN6
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Might want to cut back on the baking soda in this recipe. Our gingerbread men swelled up so much their thighs grew together and they all looked like grimace from McD's. They taste fabulous and I had several comments that this was THE best gingerbread cookie ever tasted. If you are just making them for around the house, great recipe...If you are going for presentation they puff up WAY too much! I also found this dough to be WAY difficult to roll out and work with. This was my first time using gingerbread. I usually do sugar cookies. This dough was so sticky and it took a lot of flour to get them rolled and cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianola, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
These were good, however, I think next time I will add slightly more seasoning and a tiny bit more sugar (though not much). I ended up baking them for 6 minutes at 350 after a few burnt batches, but this may just be my old oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
These cookies were the closest thing that compared to my grandmother's recipe. The intensity of the ginger and cloves were perfect. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Photo by Moo
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I tried out this recipe yesterday to try and make ~big~ cookies for my daughter's J.K. class. For me, the recipe turned out a fairly crumbly cookie that could not be made large (they all fell apart). Also, I found that the cookies were too pale in color and didn't look very "ginger-bready" at all. I tried another batch using some brown sugar instead of all white sugar and those looked and held together a bit better. Still, I could not make them any bigger than about 4 inches (which, of course, not many people would want to do anyway). Overall, I'd have to say that I do not like the taste or mouth-feel of these cookies very much, but I appreciate the fact that this is one of the only recipes I could find that did not include molasses. I don't think many kids are big fans of molasses. So, I think they would like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I loved this recipe and although they are more spice biscuits than ginger, they were delicious. After reading the reviews I added an extra half a cup of flour and the biscuits kept their shape beautifully. This recipe will definitely be a favourite of mine and my family's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
My kids loved this recipe. I wouldn't consider it true gingerbread, but they were delicious and the dough was very easy to work with when kept chilled. The icing was a great consistency for piping as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I love this recipe! I have used it many times and it always turns out great! I get complements every time I make these. The cookies most of the time do spread out too far after being baked, but you can just put designs with icing on them and they will look really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States