Gingerbread People Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
This recipe is more like a gingersnaps recipe rather than a soft and/or chewy gingerbread people recipe. However, they were really tasty and worked well with cutouts. The icing recipe worked very well. We added food coloring and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
These were wonderful. My son says they are nice and moist. The dough did spread when baking, my people looked very fat, but they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Donald, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I loved this recipe and although they are more spice biscuits than ginger, they were delicious. After reading the reviews I added an extra half a cup of flour and the biscuits kept their shape beautifully. This recipe will definitely be a favourite of mine and my family's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I added 3 tablespoons of molasses for a more gingerbread taste. Also the gingerbread "people" looked looked like bloated blobs, probably too much baking powder? On the plus side, they were very tasty! Either way I won't be making this recipe anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
The cookies are soft enough to be edible, but firm enough to make good building material, about the texture of a good sugar cookie. They are lightly spiced enough that even the people who don't like gingerbread usually even enjoy them, but still have that wondeful gingerbread bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I love this recipe! I have used it many times and it always turns out great! I get complements every time I make these. The cookies most of the time do spread out too far after being baked, but you can just put designs with icing on them and they will look really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This is the first time i've made gingerbread cookies, and these were fantastic. I live in New Zealand, and used Golden Syrup instead of corn syrup or molasses (as one reviewer suggested). I also didn't use ginger, as I was out. I know, gingerbread cookies without ginger? I added a bit more cinnamon and used nutmeg instead. The cookies weren't at all spicy-hot (probably because of the lack of ginger), but they tasted wonderful! Can't wait to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
This are good cookies, I liked them, but I found them a little bit spicier and sweeter than I would've liked. I tried to do boys and girls, and they spread out so much, you couldn't tell what they were once they were done. I will definetly try another recipe for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
These cookies were the closest thing that compared to my grandmother's recipe. The intensity of the ginger and cloves were perfect. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
My kids loved this recipe. I wouldn't consider it true gingerbread, but they were delicious and the dough was very easy to work with when kept chilled. The icing was a great consistency for piping as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States