Gingerbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This is a great recipe! Here is what I did to change it. I used my favorite pancake mix, and prepared that according to the package. It called for a cup of the mix, so I measured everything else accordingly. 1 teaspoon of the coaco powder, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp clove, (added a dash of nutmeg), and 2 tbsp molasses. I then spooned in a bit more of the pancake mix until the batter had the correct texture. They turned out so good!! My boyfriends family always does a Christmas morning pajama breakfast for friends and family. I think I will whip up the batter and take it over there to cook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita Contreras Murrah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Although I was excited by the enticing ingredients, the final results did not find favor with me. The abundance of baking powder caused a volcano-like effct of the batter. Six extra egg yolks remaining after making pancakes seemed like a waste. In addition, two of my three kids said they liked the flavor of other pancakes I make much better. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I love gingerbread cookies so I had to try these. I've made them three times now and my family really likes them alot!Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
these were really good we had them with fresh whipped cream and sliced bananas. i did modify this recipe a little, we left out the hazelnuts, used 3 whole eggs, instead of 6 whites, upped the cinnamon and cloves to 1 tsp, the ginger to 2 tsp, and added 1/2 tsp nutmeg. after the batter was done i tasted it, uncooked and it just tasted like it needed a litts someting extra, so i added 2 tsp vanilla, and 1/2 cup of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Rating on the recipe as written, this would not have been pleasant! 6 T baking powder is way too much!!! I used 1 T, and they turned out great! I used whole wheat flour and soy milk to make these into yummy pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I assumed that 6 tablespoons of baking powder was a typo, and so used only 6 teaspoons - it was still a little salty for my tastes. I also used 3 whole eggs instead of the egg whites. I also added cardamom as someone suggested (1/2tsp cloves, 1/2 cardamom). The addition of the hazlenuts was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
My husband said 'Awesome' just like the other review said. We had it for breakfast. The only problem I had was the molasses that I had such a time getting out. I needed a new jar of molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Just added the cocoa, cinnamon, cloves, ginger and molasses to pancake mix. Super easy and a nice holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
These are pretty tasty, not as tasty as another recipe I've tried and can't find now. I halved the recipe and got 8 medium sized pancakes. I used 1 entire egg and one egg white. I used only 2 tsp of baking powder and they were still super fluffy. I also didn't have cloves or hazelnuts, but I was generous with the cinnamon and added a little bit of nutmeg (careful not more than 1tsp for half a recipe, it's strong). I also added more molasses than called for and a little b. sugar cause I over did the nutmeg. Oh yes, and of course I always add walnuts or something protein-atious to my pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
These were amazingly good. I was looking for a recipe that could compare to the Gingerbread Pancakes I've had at the International House of Pancakes and these are them! Even better than IHOP's version and they make a lot. Warning, they are wonderful enough by themselves, but if you have a sweet tooth, by all means add the syrup - I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States