Gingerbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Though the recipe doesn't say it, I believe you ADD THE OIL to the batter. I also added 6 Tbs of sugar for a slightly sweet flavor. Blueberry syrup is a delicious compliment to these pancakes. I just blended blueberries with my maple syrup in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAHUNTING
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These are tasty, but would benefit from the addition of sugar to the batter. We topped our pancake stacks with whipped cream and a sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I made this recipe once and I loved it. It turns out that my batter made about 20, which took up the whole pan, and with a family that eats a lot, it was gone in less than 3 days. I applaud this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Fantastic recipe! I am not a pancake person but when I tried this recipe I was pleased. I did add chopped up bananas the second time I made it and thought it was an improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Germán, San German, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
My husban loved them and to me they were just ok to me. I did not have molasses, used an old trick of 1/3 cup brown sugar with 1/2 teaspoon of Cream of Tartar. Next time I will use cardamom in place of cloves and increase the ginger rom 1 1/2 teaspoons to 2 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This pancake were good but not sweet enough for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I love gingerbread cookies so I had to try these. I've made them three times now and my family really likes them alot!Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This is a great recipe! Here is what I did to change it. I used my favorite pancake mix, and prepared that according to the package. It called for a cup of the mix, so I measured everything else accordingly. 1 teaspoon of the coaco powder, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp clove, (added a dash of nutmeg), and 2 tbsp molasses. I then spooned in a bit more of the pancake mix until the batter had the correct texture. They turned out so good!! My boyfriends family always does a Christmas morning pajama breakfast for friends and family. I think I will whip up the batter and take it over there to cook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I didn't have molasses so I used a little brownsugar melted in butter. Worked well. Also, didn't have eggs, so I did without. The pancakes weren't as 'cakey' as I would have liked. Next time, remind me to get eggs. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Well.... mixed reviews on this one. Did anyone else notice that the recipe didn't tell you to use the oil in the recipe or save it to oil the pan? Maybe I was the only one confused. I agree - the pancakes puffed up almost too much. What ended up happening with our pancakes is that the insides didn't cook as much as the puffed up outsides. I hadn't added the oil to the batter for my first 4 pancakes and they were just light "fluff" but once I added a little oil it was much more like a "regular" batter . My husband, myself and my son liked the pancakes but not my daughter. Not sure I'll make again until my daughter learns to love the taste of gingerbread!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States