Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
What a great recipe. This is the first Gingerbread Cookies I've ever made and it's actually the best one I've ever had. As some reviewers stated, I added more cinnamon and ginger, 1/2 tsp to be exact. It came out great. My husband is not a big cookie fan and he went back for more. They taste great without any frosting. The dough was very easy to work with. My daughter (4 yrs) cut out Gingerbread Man figures. We all had to stop ourselves from eating them because we're saving to frost them tomorrow on Christmas Eve. Thanks Kim! We will be making this every holiday. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I am not a first time baker. Very hard to work with, doesn't hold up together it was crumblely and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
The process of making the cookies was a little hard. I did have to substitute the instant pudding so maybe that was the problem but as I kept on cutting out the cookies the dough started crumbling too much. Otherwise the cookies were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Very good recipe! I followed it to a T and they were perfect. Made a second batch with instant pudding and they were great too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Perfect! Looks greats, tastes even better. We will make this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This was an excellent gingerbread cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I tried this recipe because it looked simple and reviews said that it was good for kids. It did end up being on the dry side after following the directions, so I added just a tablespoon or two of molasses and it turned out wonderfully! It was easy to roll out, baked beautifully and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I'm not quite sure what I did wrong, but this recipe was very crumbly and almost impossible to roll. I made less than 2 dozen from a double batch. I suspect it could be my fault for using the no sugar, instant butterscotch pudding - it's all the store had and I had time to locate. The taste is very pleasant though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I made this today using sugar free instant pudding because that's all the store had and it , and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Cut the softened butter in together with the pudding and brown sugar. After you mix all ingredients together really well and squish together with hands it nenes the perfect roll out dough. I kept in the fridge for only the time it took to preheat oven. It really made it much easier to roll between parchment paper and pull off the extra dough. It was very easy to take extra dough squish together again and roll out and cut out more shapes. No dough was wasted and I was able to get about twenty four medium sized shapes. Really super easy, non sticky dough to work with (using parchment paper) the cookies held their shape great ( I posted pic of my gingerbread men and bears) after they came out of oven. Easy for kids to decorate and they loved eating them. Yummy and easy to make. Thank you for sharing this recipe and for all the helpful reviews. Merry Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
The name of this cookie recipe should definitely be changed.... Maybe Butterscotch Gingerbread men, even. THESE ARE NOT GINGERBREAD. Just so everyone knows. Also the recipe needs a few adjustments for dryer climates... this recipe is extremely dry and crumbly in dryer climates...fyi :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States