Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I think I did something wrong cause it comes out very dry, add the milk to the pudding or what? I later added the milk and they came out like cake like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
LOVE this! So easy and tastes great. The dough does appear very dry and crumbly. Don't get discouraged! I used my hands to ball up and then refrigerated for 1 hour. Turned out perfect. Agree with other reviewers, 9 minutes was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I love the simplicity of this recipe. Quick to make, rolled nicely, smells great, and mild tasting but didn't hold up its shape like I wanted to especially the xmas trees. It almost formed a triangle lol. I probably didn't measure my flour right or maybe it needed more like 1/4+ cup? It's okay though, it's delicious and soft. I made 14 3" cut outs and 7 tablespoon drop cookies (rolled in sugar and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is the best cookie dough I have ever worked with. I did not have any problem with it being too dry; I attribute this to using butter that has been left out overnight. These cookies are firm but stay chewy and soft after baking and are perfect for decorating. The recipe is fantastic as-is, and also makes a fabulous base for any flavor of rolled cookie. You can use vanilla pudding mix, swap white sugar for the brown and nix the spices for a standard sugar cookie dough that will not get too sticky while rolling out. If I'm making spice cookies, I substitute nutmeg for the ginger and add a 1/4 tsp. of ground cloves. As others have pointed out, you can save yourself lots of frustration by rolling & cutting your dough on a sheet of parchment paper. Peel away the scraps between cookies and slap the whole sheet onto your pan for super easy and even baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mogtastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I have made this for 5 years running. It's so simple to do, yet festive and delish. I have found that using INSTANT pudding makes this dough far less sticky and easier to work with - not sure why, but it made a remarkable difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
What an EASY recipe!!! My daughter doesn't like gingerbread men cookies because they are too "spicy" but she LOVED these!! Instead of butter I used 1/2 c butter flavor crisco and added 3 tsp of milk. I also used powdered sugar to dust the rolling in and rolling surface. It adds a little extra sweetness to the cookie. We made them about 1/4" thick and baked for 10 minutes. They turned out nice and soft. We frosted with a powdered sugar glaze (1 c powdered sugar and 1 1/2 Tbsp milk). This will now be a Christmas must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
It was ok. They are not soft. They smelled really good while baking and after removing from the oven but hard cookies. Not a fan of crunchy cookies. Will not make again. Only part of it I really liked is they turned out well in form but to eat, nah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
The cookies turned out great! But why aren't there any instructions or a recipe to decorate like a reindeer? I can only guess how to make brown royal icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
A win with the kids! When my daughter's teacher asked me to make gingerbread men for her 1st grade class I was concerned that they would go to waste, as gingerbread isn't generally a kid favorite. This may not be a true gingerbread without molasses, but it sure went over well with the little ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Excellent cookies! If you are looking for a gingerbread recipe that simply doesn't use molasses but tastes just like gingerbread, then don't try this recipe. Like many other reviewers said, this is like gingerbread for people who don't like gingerbread. My son, who hates gingerbread, gobbled them up! We also made a gingerbread house with this yesterday and it turned out wonderfully. The pieces for the house had to be baked for longer than stated, and the gingerbread men and trees had to be baked for less time. Just keep an eye on them and you will not be disappointed. This is a keeper for us. It's now going to be a part of our regular holiday baking. Thanks, Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purple_inferno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 719) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States