Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
My family loved these. It was very easy to roll our and cut. Great for kids! We will be making these again next year for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These are so good!! I followed the recipe exactly, chilled for one hour, and the dough was perfect! It was not dry at all once you started working with it. I also only got about 13 cookies instead of the 30. I'm assuming it's because I used a larger cookies cutter, maybe 3 inches. I only baked for 8 minutes and that was perfect. Love love love this site - I have gotten so many awesome recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I never liked gingerbread until I found this recipe. Unlike most gingerbread, this one stays soft. The dough was perfect, and the cookies baked up perfectly. Will definitely be my go-to recipe for gingerbread - THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These cookies are pretty good! I only had 1oz of butterscotch (and it was instant) so I used that and then vanilla pudding. It worked fine! The batter was very crumbly and dry..which I was worried about, but it ended up cooking just fine. Mine didn't really puff up at all while cooking which is good. Used an Icing to decorate like Gingy :) also made little xmas trees. I only gave 4 stars cause the cooking time was way off. Only bake for about 8 minutes otherwise you will have fried little men.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is a great gingerbread recipe for kids. Tastes more like a sugar cookie with a hint of ginger. Kids will like it more than the spicey gingerbread taste. I did have to double the egg, though. I found it was way to dry with just one egg. After that it was perfect! My daughter had so much fun helping me make them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
AMAZING!!! My kids and my neighbours kids all gathered around the table to help make these awesome cookies they loved em and so did I! I also used the instant pudding mix, i was a little worried because the dough seemed dry at first but i just kept kneading it with my hands and eventually it all came together perfectly. I did add one teaspoon of ground cloves just for a little extra spice, and they turned out absoulutely great!!! Thankyou so much for this wonderful recipie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna-cooker

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
my cookies expanded so much you couldn;t tell what shape they were! I only put 8 on a tray and they ran together to much that it was basically just one big gingerbread square! I was making these for dessert plates to give out for christmas, so i just cut the cookies into squares and iced them and used gingerbread man shaped sprinkles that I had. they tasted fine, however, and it was a good way to use up my sprinkles that i had no idea what to do with! for the rest of my dough, i flattened it out into a pan and made squares as well. i don't like molasses at all (the smell, taste, texture, anything) so i refuse to cook with it, so i was happy to find a gingerbread recipe without mollasses. i loved the taste of these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Easiest cutout cookie recipe. I followed exactly, except, I added 1 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves and 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg and you really don't need to refrigerate the dough that long. I refrigerated for like 10 minutes at the most and it is still so easy to roll out. They are kinda hard to move tho once you cut them out, so I usually just cut them out right on the parchment paper and move that to the cookie sheet. I bake for 8 minutes and they are perfect. Everyone loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantal Colby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These are great! The whole family was impressed. I did add a 1/4tsp of cloves to give them a little more spice like someone suggested. But Yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raevynsfire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These were easy to mx and to roll out. Smells great cooking in the oven. Tastes good but not like a gingerbread cookie. Great for kids!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 714) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States