Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I tried this recipe because it looked simple and reviews said that it was good for kids. It did end up being on the dry side after following the directions, so I added just a tablespoon or two of molasses and it turned out wonderfully! It was easy to roll out, baked beautifully and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I'm not quite sure what I did wrong, but this recipe was very crumbly and almost impossible to roll. I made less than 2 dozen from a double batch. I suspect it could be my fault for using the no sugar, instant butterscotch pudding - it's all the store had and I had time to locate. The taste is very pleasant though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I made this today using sugar free instant pudding because that's all the store had and it , and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Cut the softened butter in together with the pudding and brown sugar. After you mix all ingredients together really well and squish together with hands it nenes the perfect roll out dough. I kept in the fridge for only the time it took to preheat oven. It really made it much easier to roll between parchment paper and pull off the extra dough. It was very easy to take extra dough squish together again and roll out and cut out more shapes. No dough was wasted and I was able to get about twenty four medium sized shapes. Really super easy, non sticky dough to work with (using parchment paper) the cookies held their shape great ( I posted pic of my gingerbread men and bears) after they came out of oven. Easy for kids to decorate and they loved eating them. Yummy and easy to make. Thank you for sharing this recipe and for all the helpful reviews. Merry Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
The name of this cookie recipe should definitely be changed.... Maybe Butterscotch Gingerbread men, even. THESE ARE NOT GINGERBREAD. Just so everyone knows. Also the recipe needs a few adjustments for dryer climates... this recipe is extremely dry and crumbly in dryer climates...fyi :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
VERY YUMMY!! I would cook for 10 minutes because 11-12 made them burnt. fun to decorate tooo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is a great cookie for everyone. I made a double batch and got 36 5-inch gingerbread cut-outs. I started with a portion of dough, leaded in a little more flour before I started rolling it out. Rerolled the scraps with another portion of dough. At the end I added the last scraps to the final baking sheet. Tastes great, easy to work with, and makes the house smell like the holidays! ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I was a little reluctant to try this recipe with the boxed pudding bat am glad I did! I have three teen aged grandsons and two sons-in-law who LOVED these! Most liked them plain from the oven. One liked them liberally dusted in powdered sugar. We rolled and cut out the first batch but they went so fast that I simply rolled the dough into a log, chilled it to firm it and sliced it into 1/4" discs. The boys didn't even notice! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
They make gingerbread pudding, you know. I'm gonna try this recipe with that this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRICIA20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Boy, I feel like I missed something. I found the dough to be crumbly, a little challenging to roll out; when I opted for the 8 minute timer, I found some of the thicker cookies underdone, when I applied a longer time, they became very crispy and most important, all very bland. I was opting for a gingerbread version that wasn't as spicey, but this cookie is really very bland. Dry, cripsy and bland. Different strokes for different folks, I suppose. I'm going to attempt to cover them in icing to see if the additional moisture will help to soften and spark some life, but I think I might actually throw these out. Don't want anybody to break a tooth or anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I used this recipe to make gingerbread houses it worked great and my kids love the taste. They never cared for the taste of regular gingerbread. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 713) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States