Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My boys really wanted to make real gingerbread cookies this year. I decided on this recipe because it seemed like it was a milder version of a traditional gingerbread that would be made with molasses. They were so good.....gingerbready enough that even someone who is not a fan of gingerbread would like them. I followed the directions exactly.....except I always bake less then what is suggested. I took them out around 8 minutes. Also, I only got 12 cookies so if I made them smaller and got as many as the recipe states, I would probably take them out at 7 minutes or so. Very Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I have a gingerbread cookie making party every year during Christmas, and I always use this recipe! The dough works well for rolling and cutting, and the kids love eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe was wonderful!!! Many in my family do not eat gingerbread cookies normally, but they ALL devoured these! They taste just a good- if not better than a molasses version. This recipe will now be a family traditon in our house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
These are so good! I doubled the recipe and would say I got about 30 - so definitely make more dough. Easy to roll - not sure why so many had a hard time with it. I piped on frosting that I found in the reviews. Yummy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janie vw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Wow!! Easy to make and handle. The cookie got dry quickly when I replaced 1/2 the butter with oil and 1/2 the sugar with gran. splenda. Still was consumed quickly on the changed batch as it was on the original we made yesterday. Yet I am concerned over the negative aspects of using artificial sweeteners. We eventually just kept most of the ingredients and it has become our cookie recipe for all seasons year-round except that we use a 50/50 mix of oil and butter instead of all butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Easy recipe I did have problems with the dough being very dry and crumbling after chilling - in desperation i added 2 Tbsp of cold water and worked it into the dough. I used alot of flour, but they turned out fantastic and they smelled great while cooking. I also reduced the cooking time to 9 minutes and found them to be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was my first time ever making gingerbread cookies and I'm glad I chose this recipe! They aren't hard and crunchy like other gingerbread cookies I've tried. I slightly altered the cooking time to 8 1/2 minutes and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Added an extra teaspoon of cloves and it still wasn't spicy enough for me; however, everyone enjoyed them anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Five and a half stars I'm told by my nephew. I don't partucularly like gingerbread, but everyone who does thought these were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSTAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is the second year I used this recipe. It's been a huge success both times. My daughter helped me today and neither of us wanted to wait an hour for the dough to chill. I rolled and cut the dough unchilled (use plenty of flour) and they turned out great. No problem with sticking. I stress the "use plenty of flour" part. I can see how they could be a colossal mess if you didn't. These cookies are delicious just as written. I will go to this recipe year after year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 714) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States