Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I used this recipe to make gingerbread men cookies with my 23 kindergartners. It was very easy to mix (they did the mixing). It rolled out easily and baked beautifully. The kids loved them. Everyone liked them. That's a rarity with a class of kindergartners. I would really give this 4 1/2 stars. I like a cut out cookie to get a tad bit firmer, but maybe I would try baking a minute or two longer. The flavor was great! I loved that I didn't have to buy molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I like the taste of the recipe, but had a hard time with the dough. Even after an hour in the fridge, it was still soft. I split it into 4ths and put in freezer. I left the others in the freezer while I worked with it a section at a time. I could not get them off of my silpat, so I rolled out on there, cut them and left them there to bake. Even after 2 roll outs, the dough was sticky. When I made this recipe, it only yielded 20 cookies. I needed 30 for my son's class and didn't buy anymore butterscotch pudding, so I guess we will have to just eat them and I will make them something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRIAM01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
we love these. My girls ask me to make them year-round. easy, very tasty & fun for kids to help & decorate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I missed the molasses of traditional gingerbread but this is a great, mild kid-friendly version. I made the recipe as written and had no trouble working with the dough as others did. I used my 1/4" rolling pin rings and used confectioners sugar to roll it in as well as parchment paper on the pans. 100% success. Iced with lemon flavoring...delicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Terrific cookie! Easy to mix and decorate. Will definitely make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Hands down the best gingerbread cookie I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This recipe is easy, easy easy! I make it every Christmas and everyone loves these cookies - even those who initially turn them down because they don't care for gingerbread. Be sure to print a couple extra recipes when taking them out because you're going to get a lot of requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
It was to dry. I added I little bit of milk. My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These are so good they don't even need frosting. They have the perfect amount of spice. We will be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I loved the flavor of these. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 714) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States