Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Easy to make, taste great. The cookie dough seems dry at first, just keep using that stand mixer and it will form. I only baked them for 8 minutes and that was perfect. The taste is quite mild (perfect for the 2-3 year old classroom) - not too much ginger and not to sweet. Rolling the dough slightly thicker made for a softer cookie, thinner dough resulted in a crunchy cookie. They are a hit with the kids and easy for mom to make. I will make again and double the recipe. I saw gingerbread flavor pudding mix, I'm going to try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Easy, simple, and really good. I added a little bit of applesauce to moisten the dough a bit. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I did not have butterscotch pudding and substituted lemon instant pudding and added some pumpkin pie spice to offset the lemon. The taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Great recipe! I've never been a huge fan of gingerbreaad cookies, but these are delicious and very easy to make. I couldn't find the "cook and serve" pudding mix so I used the instant kind and they still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Taste like pogens! Been looking for a recipe like this for years. Accidentally bought instant pudding, but saw that someone used it anyway, so I tried it. Worked! Next time I will try the cook and serve, but either way this recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Great recipe. I did double and then added an extra egg. I am going to use Vanilla Instant Pudding and leave out the ginger for my next batch of Christmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Excellent for KIDS! We did this with a 3 and 5 year old with good success. I had divided the dough into three sections and wrapped individually and chilled overnight. They warmed up quickly and kids rolled their own on parchment paper. They tore away the excess dough and used a spatula to put them on the cookie sheet. We made smaller sized cookies (4 inch and 2 inch) and baked them at 400 for 6 minutes. The thickness and size must be considered for baking time. Kids decorated by dipping candies in frosting and sticking to the cookies. Quite a successful project!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Awesome for the kidos! I used the instant pudding as well and it turned out great. Easy to roll out and not too sticky for little hands. They also hold true to cutter size so ou can use ones with little details! The kids loved them and my parents and sister said they were a pretty tasty cookie as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Loved how easy these were to make and how delicious they were. Great roll out recipe. I made them to make in my daughter's preschool. Made 4 batches the night before and refrigerated. Came out fantastic. They do grow quite a bit unlike real gingerbread, but I am not a huge fan of molasses, these were fantastic. Got many many comments from the other parents about how good they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
If it was based on my own personal taste I would rate this three stars, but my fiance loved them! They taste more like a sugar cookie to me then gingerbread but they are easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by losarve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 715) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States