Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Both my dad and boyfriend HATE molassis. So I found this recipe in hopes we could enjoy gingerbread. And they both loved it. Tastes really good. A very mild tasting cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I have made many gingerbread cookies, all with molasses, which is the best way to get that true gingerbread flavor. I was traveling out of town, so didn't have my recipes with me & found this one on the internet, but I was extremely disappointed with the taste, as it is basically just a plain tasting cookie, nothing special, and not what I was expecting. I would not recommend this recipe, if you are looking for a true, old-fashioned gingerbread man recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These where great. I really like them and so did my family and friends. I did need to add a little water for it was dry. Other than that they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bronzedragon1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozona, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadyBug06445
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These were great! I did substitute margarine because that's all I had. Make sure and chill dough thoroughly because it is very sticky, I chilled mine overnight. they package very well and are not too fragile. Not too gngery either and you can not taste the butterscotch, if you like ginger you may want to add an additional tsp but otherwise a great cookie. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBug06445

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
My granddaughter had so much fun making these & wouldd never have loved eating them just as much if they were actual gingerbread cookies! The flavor is a hint of spiciness/gingerbread, although I added just 1/8 teaspoon each of allspice & nutmeg & used dark brown sugar to sorta make up for the lack of molasses. The dough was so soft that I had to keep taking breaks, putting it back in the freezer to cchill the start over again, but watching my granddaghter have so much fun rolling, cutting & decorating cookies she actually enjoyed eating when she was done was well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These turned out great, and so easy to make! The dough was a little on the crumbly side, but the cookies baked up nicely, with a great mild ginger flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
These are awesome!!! I baked them 8 minutes, and added extra ginger, cinnamon, and a pinch of cloves. Perfect! Everyone loved them and they looked adorable. Definitely my go-to recipe for gingerbread cookies from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Dee's Yummies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Loved this! Made it true to the recipe and the cookies were delicious right out of the oven! I did double it to make more cookies with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
These are amazing! I did not use cookie cutters, just rolled the cookies into small balls and flattened them with the palm of my hand. I did take the advice of others and increased the amount of ginger and cinnamon and they were a hit! Thenext time I make these, I will try using sugar free pudding mix, Splenda brown sugar, and whole wheat flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STREEVES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
These are SO good! We used instant pudding and dark brown sugar and followed the recipe amounts of ginger. They're not too gingery (but that's a plus in our house)! I'm addicted! We're adding a new cookie to our annual lineup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States