Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by ream
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Really good! I was craving gingerbread cookies and didnt have any molasses... followed the instructions, but added more cinnamon and ginger. I love my spices ;) Thank u Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is a really great tasting cookie. I didn't change anything with the recipe and it came out fine. My dough wasn't dry as others reported . HOWEVER, I must say that if you are looking for a traditional tasting gingerbread cookie then this is not the recipe for you. This one is really meant for kids in my opinion because you simply can't taste the spices in the cookie. Younger children will appreciate this. So four stars for taste but one star deducted because it doesn't taste like gingerbread so another name should be allocated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I loved these cookies. I just made them and everyone in my house is going crazy over them. I had to hide them to make sure they don't go away before Christmas! No one usually likes gingerbread in my family because the molasses, but they can't get their hands off these!!! As most gingerbead cookies the dough was a little sticky and difficult to work with, but with a little flour and wax paper the problem was solved. I would definitley make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Wow! I never made gingerbread cookies before and always heard it was difficult because of the molasses. When i found that this used butterscotch pudding instead of molasses, I was a little skeptical. The result: The perfect cookie to get you in the spirit!! Although I did cook it for 7 and a half minutes absolutely perfect! Thanks for sharing! I love Christmas and Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munster, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is a very good cookie! I'm not a big fan of the true gingerbread cookie taste and the elimination of the molasses and using the butterscotch pudding made this a very easy recipe to make and a very yummy cookie! My 3 and 11 yr olds love them as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Great recipe and very popular. Had to chill the dough in the freezer in order to cut out the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Dough too sticky even after chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
First off, I doubled the recipe and contrary to some posts had no problem mixing the dough. I will say that I always cream the butter/sugar extremely well in any recipe and find that key to good dough. Giving it a 5 star with making some changes always makes me feel guilty, however the only changes I made was to the spices. I added more ginger, cinnamon and added cloves, this is a matte of personal taste and shouldn't detract from a rating. Now let me say...OMG!! This dough is marvelous, one of the smoothest and easiest I have ever experienced. I chose to do all Gingerbread men, half large and half small. They rose to perfection, though I will caution, really watch your baking times, I reduced mine significantly. I always bake for half the time and rotate pans as I don't have a convection oven. The first batch always tells the time tale....so be cautious. I always bake on parchment. I adore these cookies, the taste is wonderful, and I adore working with the dough! You won't be sorry giving this a try. I make traditional molasses Gingerbread men for my daughter using Splenda, and they come out great...but this is going to be my go to recipe for the little guys using sugar! Great Recipe Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I love this recipe but I was concerned about the ingredient proportions so being the scientist I am I made 6 very small batches varying amount of baking soda ginger and cinnamon. Because I was looking for a recipe that tasted very close to the gingerbread that I was used to I found that doubling the ginger and cinnamon had the best result and if you would prefer more spice in your cookie it still leaves a lot of room to change the recipe to fit your personal preference. on another note depending of if you are looking for a softer (more bread like) cookie I would suggest changing the cook time to 8 min and the thickness closer to 1/4 in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Made this last season and again this season. Last season I followed the recipe exactly with excellent results. The dough is VERY easy to work with but only made about 20, 2 1/2 inch cookies. This time I added a pinch of ground cloves and a tsp. vanilla. I also rolled the dough out a bit thicker. Still a very yummy cookie! Not very spicy nor too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 713) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States