Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I added cinnamon to make them spicier, and applesauce in the place of some molasses. I forgot to chill the dough, which didn't seem to have too much of an adverse effect. A word of caution: the cookies came out of the oven squishy after 12 minutes, but hardened a ton as they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
These gingerbread men are not for the faint of heart. In fact, I make my with blackstrap molasses in order to make them even spicier. I make these at Christmas time, and every year, before baking time comes, I get requests, in order to make sure that they'll appear on the plates I make up. This recipe is great if you like your gingerbread to be of the more old-fashioned variety rather than the sweet. I'm so very glad that I found this recipe. It's a wonderful tradition now in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
WOW! These came out great as a gluten free cookie! We used 2c soy flour and 1 1/2 c white rice flour. Awesome! Stuck the dough in the freezer for about 20 minutes and it worked fantastically! Easy to cut too, we did them by hand and with a little flour dusting every now and again and a clean knife, it was really easy to work. Will definitely make these again, and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
love this! the only good, easy, chewy gingerbread recipe i ever found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S!! We're eating them as we type (with one hand). For the topping we (Jess) found the Royal Icing III... highly recommended! We couldn't wait the recommended 24 hours to chill the cookies, so we stuck them in the freezer for 10 minutes... I think 15 minutes would have worked better... but the cookies were awesome, no ill-side effects to the freezer treatment. This is our new gingerbread cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess-and-dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
These are the way I remembered them as a child. I love this recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This recipe was great! I really enjoyed making my first batch of gingerbread men with my 2 year old daughter. I used parchment paper instead of greasing the pan and didn't burn a single cookie! I will use this simple recipe year after year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was easy and they turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly. My 5yr old had a blast decorating - and now eating - them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZBURAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I love this recipe and my kids love it too. i only put 1/2 tsp of ginger in it though because i do not like it too strong. it is VERY easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This dish is so yuumy. We served it at your holiday party and many of our guests asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States