Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
We all loved these as they have a real gingerbread flavor. I did add another tsp of ginger though as we like our spices. I'm going to go and make some more now as my lads have eaten them all. Thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
WAY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
my wife and I found this recipe rather dry and un-maleable untill we added 1/2 cup of water. this was determined after checking several other recipes as well. once hydrated the dough rolled out nicly with golden gingerbread men.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I like this recipe, but only after making a few changes. I replace the molasses with golden syrup, the shortening with butter, and up the amount of ginger. I use about a tablespoon of crushed ginger, and a teaspoon of the ground. All of my flatmates love it, it usually disappears within a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
1. Very easy to make; cleanup was a breeze 2. Gingerbread cutouts came out with right texture and didn't lose their shape 3. This is definitely a "darker" tasting gingerbread. I personally thought the molasses overwhelmed the gingerbread so I couldn't really taste the spices...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orihime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
These were great! My favorite new recipe for gingerbread. I used brown flour and they were still soft when we went to decorate them for Santa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I got started and realized I had forgotten to pick up molasses. Mis En Place! I used Good quality maple syrup. It was a much mellower flavor but still tasty. I put the men too close together in the oven..they were partying. (used a huge cookie cutter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Very tasty. dough is on the sticky side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNFIRE71
Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Very good if you like spicy gingerbread men (and we do!) we made this as Christmas cookie handouts and everyone loved them. However we made a few changes, we increased the cinnamon to 2 tsp. and added 1 1/2 tsp. of black pepper for some more kick. They came out awsome and especially the older relatives who were used to a spicer, not sweet gingerbread loved them (we did too, and kept some for ourselves!). Will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
truly spicy. nice dough. needs more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hengyang, Hunan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States