Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Great recipe for traditional gingerbread. You can really taste the molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Used dark molasses. Tasted very good, although I had to add some water because it was so crumbly. It gets hard enough to build with. For frosting, I used 3 egg whites and 6 cups powdered sugar. For intense color, use color gel food coloring instead of liquid food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Excellent spicy cookie, good for making shapes with. My complaint is that the dough is very sticky, so roll it on parchment paper or it'll stick to the table even with a layer of flour. I added a 1/2 tsp cloves, with good results. My taste tester approved of the flavour. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Made the best gingerbread cookies I have ever had. Made it more than twice each season because people were eating them up--more that one person mentioned they "hated gingerbread" but these cookies were fantastic. The dough was easy to work with. I used generic unsulphored molasses, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Litherland

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I had never made gingerbread men before. This was simple and easy. It did require a lot of elbow grease to stir the dough, but it was well worth it. Flavorful and versatility of this dough will make me use it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
fun to do with the kids. We have been using this for 3 years now. Cookies were sturdy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
We LOVE this recipe and have been using it for 2 or 3 years now. It is sturdy enough to make gingerbread houses as well and it is loved by the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
great gingerbread man with not to strong of a taste like some other recipes. Was a hit even with my husband who doesn't like gingerbread men
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I replaced the molasses with dark amber maple syrup and they still came out beautifully. Nice crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I have never had good luck with gingerbread men. This recipe was very easy to follow and the cookies came out perfectly. Sturdy enough for little hands to decorate without destruction..excellent flavor. A very big hit with everyone. I have added it to my favorites and will never use another. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States