Gingerbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I have been trying to find the perfect gingerbread recipe, and this is it. I added a scant 1/8 tsp. cloves for a little more spice, but it would be fine w/out it. Also, I used regular molasses because I didn't have light. Everyone loves this gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I loved this recipe. I did make a few changes. I substituted applesauce for the shortening to make it lower in fat. I also used 1 teaspoon each of ginger and cinnamon. I did not have any molasses so I used pure maple syrup. The end result was a moist and flavorful cake Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I love this recipe very much. I serve it with wipped cream. Also I use honey instead of mollases and the result were preety good.I make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
It was a wonderful recipe. Was this submitted by Jackie Smith aka Aunt Jackie????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
This cake was super moist, but not very sweet at all. And a little bland actually. I think if I were to make this again, I would use an additional 1/4 cup of white sugar, and maybe a little more ground ginger. My husband thought it tasted like a weird steak marinade. Not the reaction I was hoping for. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This was really good. Didn't have shortening on hand so I used margarine and had regular molasses. Turned out very good. I always add extra spices. We love it spicey. Thank you for the good recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I had already made my gingerbread men for the season, but every year the rest of the carton of molasses sits in the pantry until it gets icky, so I went on a search for a recipe so the rest of my molasses wouldn't go to waste. I liked this recpie immediately because it was suitable for a bedtime snack for my children, and wasn't another super saccharine cookie recipe. My 3 year old son and I worked on the recipe together, and we had such a blast! We used a 2nd egg, as another reviewer suggested so it was extra moist. It was so easy to make, and the whole time my son kept saying "Mm...this smells good!". Even with a 3 year old in tow, we were done in about 10 mins, and I wish I could bottle up the smell that wafted from my kitchen as it cooked! The cake didn't rise much, but it was moist and very good...my son asked for seconds! I agree with the reviewer who said it needed more spice..I would have been happier with a little more zip with some added cinnamon in the recipe. I made a glaze with icing sugar, and a hint of vanilla to drizzle on top. I will definetly tweak the recipe and try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Hubby doesn't eat sugar, so I replaced the brown sugar and molasses with 3/4 honey. I also at least double the spices, because I like my food to bite back sometimes! It came out a bit light in color since I didn't use molasses, but was a hit, even cold the next day rather than served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
just pure fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
The cake came out light, fluffy, crumbly and delicious. I followed the recipe except for using 2 eggs instead of one and baking in a tube pan. My husband says it is the perfect cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Children's Gingerbread House

This old-fashioned gingerbread recipe makes a sturdy, festive holiday house.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States