Gingerbread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I really liked this recipe the ratios worked perfectly and the texture and flavor are great. I did make it once using oil instead of vegetable shortening once only because I was being lazy and measuring out vegie oil was easier :-) and it still turned out fine. Slight difference in texture but still good and cake like. Not too sweet so you can certainly add a sweet frosting or glaze to this if you wish but a good not too sweet snack cake for the kids too. It also double well the ratios make it really easily done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I noticed the recipe calls for shortening, but the directions listed butter. I opted to use butter instead of shortening. Also, I only had an 8 X 8 Pyrex instead of a 9 inch round. The cake was moist and not too crumbly. I topped it was powdered sugar. I would cut back on the salt just a bit next time. It was noticeable to me, but not others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I used 1 t ginger, 1 t cinnamon and 1/8 t cloves, 1/2 c melted butter. I reduced the molasses to 1/4 c and increased the brown sugar to 1/2 c. I made it as 12 muffins, baked at 180C for 25 minutes. Oh, and I put raisins in half the batter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This recipe was a GREAT hit with my family. I read the other reviews and added a cup of applesauce and doubled up on the spices. Excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This is a great recipe. I Served it with apple sauce and whipped cream. Big hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This is the best gingerbread receipe i've found. The loaf is so light and fluffy it's delicious. The only difference is that I sprinkled sugar on top of the loaf before baking. I had to cook it much longer then specified.I could eat a whole loaf in 1 day it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
used maple syrup instead as suggested by an early review and it turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Tasted good, but I added an extra egg and it was still crumbly. Also not as rich as I'd have liked, but I did use milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This was an absolute amazing recipe. It came out soft and rich. My advice, double the spices, and add one extra egg. This makes it have a better flavor, and the egg keeps it from crumbling. The smell of gingerbread filled the whole house. It was a great experience making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This recipe was wonderfull all my friends wanted me to make them a loaf of this wonderful bread. Very easy and I have everything on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Covington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States