Gingerbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I really enjoyed this cake. It was easy to make with ingredients I had on hand. I used regular molassas instead of light. It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Easy to make! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I doubled this and made some for my 96 year old Kentucky Granny. She loved it. And she has been cooking for 80 years, her approval is not given to just any ole dish. I added a lil' bit more ginger. Just a pinch more. My Whole family loved it.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
EASY & DELICIOUS...WHAT MORE COULD YOU ASK FOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I give this a 5 because I think for a first try it came out wonderful and tastes just as good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Belize City, Belize District, Belize
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Moist and rich and spicy, you can't eat just one piece!! Absolutely wonderful served warm right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This is the exact recipe I've used to make gingerbread for years. I've tried other recipes, but keep coming back to this one - it's my idea of perfect gingerbread. It's easy to make, with ingredients always on hand, and mildly spiced to please the whole family. I use Grandma's Molasses (which appears dark - I'm not sure what "light molasses" is). You can double the amounts of ginger and cinnamon if you prefer a spicier cake. This truly is "good old-fashioned gingerbread"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I just follow the cooking instructions and this cake turned out perfect.....just like my gramma used to make!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Yummy, I doubled the spices as suggested...perfect. Mine was a little dry because my oven runs hot. I should have taken it out 5 minutes earlier but still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Like other reviewers have stated, I found this gingerbread a little dry. However, after I doubled all the spices and added cloves and the result was delicious. I made the cake in a bundt pan, dusted it with icing sugar and took it to a New Year's party. It was a hit! I will make this cake again, but maybe with a bit more molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peaseblossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States