Gingerbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was quite good - i used butter since I did not have shortening in the pantry. I was a little more generous with the spices than the recipe called for, but did not quite double the., Also added a few shakes of ground cloves since my favorite gingerbread cookie recipe calls for that. I used this recipe to make the cake part of the gingerbread pear upside down cake on this site (instead of a box mix) - I used apples instead of pears (always have to adjust to what is on hand!) - great fall dessert - but make sure you have whipped cream or vanilla ice cream to top it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeezaG
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I made this cake as the recipe states, with one exception. I only had dark molasses, so I replaced about 1/3 of the amount with clear Karo corn syrup. I thought this cake tasted good, but did not have the pronounced ginger flavor I wanted and I thought that it was just a little on the dry side. I served it with a vanilla custard sauce (I just used 1/2 my homemade vanilla pudding recipe and added more milk)which made up for the dryness. I think that more powdered ginger (or a little fresh) and maybe the addition of a little bit of yogurt or sour cream (1/4 C.?) would bring this up to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This is the perfect classic gingerbread recipe. I too doubled the spice based on personal preference. It makes a smooth, rich, mollasses-y batter (which I ate way too much of raw!) and an even more delicious cake. I served warm with homemade whipped cream. Christmas on a plate! Side note: this is probably much easier to make if you have a kitchen aid. It wouldn't be impossible with a handmixer, just labor intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I read many of the reviews and decided to try this cake exactly as it appears. And I'm glad I did. It is just what I wanted. I thought the texture was great as well as the taste. Mine was not dry at all. I don't think I would have liked it if I'd doubled the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was so delicious and Christmasy! I frosted mine with a lemon butter cream, it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Good stuff (with my modifications). I doubled the ginger and cinnamon, added a half-teaspoon of nutmeg and a quarter-teaspoon of cayenne, substituted hot brewed coffee for the water, and sprinkled the batter with diced candied ginger. Yes, it is a little "cakey," but very moist and VERY flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I made this for the first time and thought the flavor was great. It was a bit dry but I will add more water next time and cook it in a different pan (not a bundt). I melted milk chocolate chips and put them on top after it came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This was absolutely delicious and very moist! I doubled the spices as recommended by some viewers. Thank you for this very yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This was ok. It was hard to mix as I dont have a mixer. It was pretty plain without a topping. It could be that I just dont remember gingerbread like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Perfectly moist and light and fluffy and wonderful with a slightly chewy crust (I like the corners). The kids all raved on this. I added twice the ginger as I like it that way. Really a lot better than I expected. One of the best quick cakes I've ever made. No more brownies for us! **Note** I'm coming back to update my review. I just read the other reviews that talk about this cake being dry. I don't understand that. Perhaps they missed adding the water? Maybe they're cooking it too long? This truly is so moist that it is really a cake, not a bread. I've made it repeatedly and it's great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States