Gingerbread Frosting for Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
The flavor is excellent and the frosting sets fairly quickly, though I had a hard time getting it as thick as I would like. It really picked up some bland anise cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Just remember that with the spices the frosting won't be white. Tastes good and actually enhanced the cookie flavor, which is neat as I tend not to like frosting. I used it with the Gingerbread Boys recipe by Janice Brubaker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dinsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Very light and great on molasses cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I made this to frost the "big soft ginger cookies" from this sight and they worked so beautifully together! The spices in the frosting and the cookies worked so well together and made the cookie even more special! Needless to say i got rave reviews about this frosting! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I thought this was wonderful!!! I used it to ice the "big soft ginger cookies" from this site. The only changes I made were to increase it to ice 48 cookies and I added a dash of mexican vanilla. The taste is delicious and the texture is perfect. It set within minutes so that I could pack them away before they were devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This is incredible icing! I wanted to use the Big Soft Ginger Cookies for a fall sandwich cookie and needed a complimentary icing. This was the one. I added a tbsp. of butter and a little vanilla and doubled the recipe. This was the best icing. I could see how this would be good on a pumpkin or sugar cookie, too. It sets up well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
EXCELLENT! The frosting made the cookies. I think I may try it on pumpkin muffins next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danielson, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
AMAZING! I added the 1 TBSP of Butter (creamed) and it turned out to be the perfect spreading consistency for Gingerbread... not cookies...Gingerbread cake. When I took a bite of the gingerbread cake with this frosting it was like a spice explosion in my mouth! My husband said "You ARE making more of these for Christmas!" This icing would also be excellent on sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Terrific frosting recipe! It tasted delicious on my gingerbread cookies and when dried, it wasn't at all sticky or tacky~just a great consistency. Thank you for a wonderful frosting recipe! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Fantastic! I replaced all seasonings with 1 tsp pumpkin pie seasoning- yum! The color comes out brown, but nothing a little food coloring can't cure... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States