Gingerbread Frosting for Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Terrific frosting recipe! It tasted delicious on my gingerbread cookies and when dried, it wasn't at all sticky or tacky~just a great consistency. Thank you for a wonderful frosting recipe! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This is incredible icing! I wanted to use the Big Soft Ginger Cookies for a fall sandwich cookie and needed a complimentary icing. This was the one. I added a tbsp. of butter and a little vanilla and doubled the recipe. This was the best icing. I could see how this would be good on a pumpkin or sugar cookie, too. It sets up well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Just remember that with the spices the frosting won't be white. Tastes good and actually enhanced the cookie flavor, which is neat as I tend not to like frosting. I used it with the Gingerbread Boys recipe by Janice Brubaker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dinsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Great recipe! Was a great addition to our Gingerbread Men cookie recipe. Added a little more powdered sugar to make it a little thicker so it would stay on the cookies, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly. Turned out brown, but looked great on the gingerbread cookies with candies and sprinkles on top! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
AMAZING! I added the 1 TBSP of Butter (creamed) and it turned out to be the perfect spreading consistency for Gingerbread... not cookies...Gingerbread cake. When I took a bite of the gingerbread cake with this frosting it was like a spice explosion in my mouth! My husband said "You ARE making more of these for Christmas!" This icing would also be excellent on sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is a really nice alternative to a typical vanilla glaze. I have made this recipe many times as it has so many good uses, and I'm always asked for the recipe. I would recommend at least doubling the recipe as it only makes about 1/4 cup. I have used this to drizzle lightly on pumpkin gingerbread as well as pumpkin ginger cupcakes, and also to glaze gingerbread cutouts and apple quick breads and muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I thought this was wonderful!!! I used it to ice the "big soft ginger cookies" from this site. The only changes I made were to increase it to ice 48 cookies and I added a dash of mexican vanilla. The taste is delicious and the texture is perfect. It set within minutes so that I could pack them away before they were devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Great, spicy icing. Used to drizzle over pumpkin gingerbread mini loaves. Looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
i added a little extra ginger in there just cause I love it so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sixx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This frosting was excellent on my Gingerbread cut-out cookies, I thought the taste would be too strong, but the spices blend very well together so it tastes just right. I am sure this would be good with all kinds of sweets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Living In: Phelan, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States